Posted in Bloggers, Maiya, Reviews

Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan

So I need to preface this review:

I have a passionate fondness for feel good books. I also don’t have a ton of time to read for pleasure and also don’t have a ton of personal physical books that are not currently in boxes.

BUT. Christmas just happened. And a gift from my parents was Echo, by Pam Munoz Ryan. And I had a plane ride with time to kill, because iPhones are essentially useless and for the first time in 2 months, there is a physical book that a. does not belong to a sibling and b. is not a textbook ย that is in my possession.

It’s phenomenal.

If you’re a fan of harmonicas, historical fiction and are okay with crying (I didn’t cry for TFIOS and I cried at this book), then this book is one to be read.

It follows the path of a magical harmonica as it changes and shapes the lives of 3 kids at different points during World War 2. If you get frustrated by the seemingly sudden dropoffs in storylines, don’t fret. It all comes together very satisfyingly.

I’ve decided it will become my proposal for a senior band gift to directors next year. As a music person, it’s a book that makes you rethink and regain an appreciation for the impact that music and music in education can have for a person’s life.

As a fan of Ms. Munoz Ryan (I can’t get tildes to work, I apologize), I found it familiar in writing style but nonetheless a touching, while remarkably mature young adult novel that I absolutely loved.

tl;dr: harmonicas+fairytales+world war 2= crying and laughing and good book

Signing off,

Maiya

Author:

If I were to describe myself in one word, it would be quirky. I'm a list maker, chronic procrastinator, Science Olympian, Model UN Delegate, flautist, pianist, singer, lover of Christ, sister, daughter, girlfriend, book blogger, and probably a little bit of an oversharer.

Leave a Reply

