Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Breaking the Mold

Hello, there! Today I’ll be reviewing These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly. Excellent in many ways, I acquired this book from my work because (one of my) boss(es) told me she wanted this reviewed. I’m finally making good on this! This book initially intrigued me because of the cover and further through the description of the book.

Here it is:

Josephine “Jo” Montfort is destined to be a high society lady, she’s even rumored to be the future wife of the most eligible bachelor in all of New York. All she wants to do is write though and aspires to be the next Nellie Bly. Despite her ambitions, her world is turned upside down when her father is found dead in his study. The coroner declares it a suicide, but Jo knows that her father wasn’t suicidal. Being the curious girl she is, Jo decides to dig into his death and her prying leads her to rough and tumble Eddie, a journalist with his own dreams. Against her better judgement, Jo partners up with Eddie and they work to expose what really happened to her father.

What a thrilling read. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It only took me two days to finish it and I wish there was a sequel. I love Jo’s naivety and her discoveries. Some scenes were so funny because she had no idea what was going on. I love her inner strength and that she knew what she wanted to stand up for and eventually did. It wasn’t quite the ending I expected either and I’m 10x more impressed with it than what I thought might happen. There were so many twists and turns and everything eventually tied together. It was super intense and full of action that was really exhilarating. I highly recommend this!

Happy reading,

Sophie

Leave a Reply

