Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Simon, My Love

Helllooo! I want to start off this post by saying that I’m in LOVE with Rainbow Rowell’s writing. She is so amazing, and I’ve read all of her books except Attachments (I’m going to read it, don’t worry). If you have not had the joy of reading her writing I highly recommend any of it. I started with Eleanor and Park and continued with Fangirl; both were so amazing. Anyway, I’m not here to review either of those books, but you can find my review of Fangirl here. I’m here to talk Carry On  her most recent release. I was luck enough to snag a signed copy from Barnes and Noble. (Don’t judge me for buying from the competition, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do and there isn’t anything personal involved.) I didn’t actually read this until the end of my winter break and I’m glad I ended it on such an awesome note.

Here’s a summary:

Simon Snow is probably the worst Chosen One ever. At least that’s what his roommate Baz keeps telling him. It’s his final year at Watford and Simon has to figure out what he’s actually going to do afterward. Life with magic has made it ten times more – interesting. He hasn’t yet been able to quite master all of his power. To make matters worse, the Insidious Humdrum is growing more and more powerful with each week and the whole magical world is on the brink of war. Along with his long-time friend Penelope, Simon begins to investigate the new holes the Humdrum is creating. It seems as though his world might crumble, but hey he might have been right about Baz being a vampire, so that’s a plus, right?

*******

Excuse me while I applaud Rainbow Rowell (again). *claps wildly and enthusiastically* Okay I’m back. I have to say this was extremely well written and different from any other “Chosen One” books I’ve read so far. I know people have compared it to the Harry Potter series a lot, but I don’t think that’s fair. While both works are similar it doesn’t do either justice to put the other down. I must be honest and say that I had to drag myself through the first part of the book. It just wasn’t as attention-getting, but I’m glad I stuck it out because once part two started the story took a whole new perspective. I loved Baz’s point of view the best. Simon kind of bothered me (in the beginning at least), but I came around and we’re bros. (Can you be bros with a fictional character? I am now if I wasn’t before.) Rainbow Rowell definitely doesn’t disappoint with this new addition to her collection. I think reading about Simon in Fangirl really helped me get to know them without jumping straight into their own book. I don’t think that it’s necessary to read Fangirl before reading this one,  but I don’t think it’ll hurt if you want to do that. I think the connections made in Fangirl are just a kind of bonus.

Okay, I’ll stop blabbing now, happy reading!

Sophie

Leave a Reply

