Posted in Bloggers, Book Club, Reviews, Sophie

Sneaking In

Hi, guys! I am trying to catch up on all my reviews – I read so fast it’s hard to keep up with them all in addition to trying to come up with some posts that aren’t just reviews! So this month for Book Bloggers Unite! book club we read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. This was released in September of 2015 and has been raved about since. We decided it was definitely one we wanted to read and discuss for this one. After Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List  we were excited to get into something so thrilling.

So here’s what the book is about:

Kaz Brekker is probably one of the youngest, most successful gang members in Ketterdam. The streets of the bustling port/island is one of intrigue, business, and secrets. It is eat or be eaten. Gangs rule the streets and are in constant battle for territory.

Known for his skills in breaking into impenetrable places, Kaz is approached by a wealthy merchant. He is asked to bust out a chemist developing a lethal drug from the largest and well-kept bastion known to the area – the Ice Court. It’s a job Kaz can’t turn down, and he knows that he can’t accomplish it on his own. With a carefully selected group Kaz has his sights set to the Ice Court and works to break down its icy walls.

***************

What a thrilling book! I couldn’t put it down once I got into it. At first I was a bit confused because of the world it’s set in. That took a bit to get used to, but overall it was so cool seeing how elaborate the whole world was constructed. Props to Bardugo for having such an intricate and beautiful world!

The first couple of chapters were hard to get through. Like I said about the world, it was a bit hard to adjust to. I think if I had read her first series, it would have made a little more sense. The Grisha world was super cool and something I look forward to getting to know better. I am definitely putting that on the overflowing TBR list.

Once I got into the groove of the book I really enjoyed getting to know the characters. I think that my favorite ones were Matthias and Inej. Kaz was really interesting too. I like that it was told from multiple different perspectives because it gave you a taste of all the sides of the story than just one perspective. It was fun to follow all of their personal feelings and motives.

The story was definitely exhilarating. There are so many twists and turns in the plot that I couldn’t wait to see what happened. The ending was such a surprise! I can’t wait to get my hands on Crooked Kingdom once that’s released! I am so excited to see what comes next (that cliffhanger was cruel).

Happy reading!

Sophie

Leave a Reply

