Posted in Uncategorized

A Little Jane to Live By

Hello there! My most recently finished book is First and Then by Emma Mills. I was first drawn to this book because it was the September book of Uppercase box (which I promptly subscribed to, thank you very much). I was a bit miffed that I didn’t get it in time, but no fear, I received it for Christmas. I was then intrigued because of the gorgeous cover art (I mean, just look at the beauty!). Under the dust jacket it’s even more beautiful.

So for a little bit about the actual book:

If anyone would like to learn about procrastination and how to avoid the future, you should just contact Devon. Dev is quite content with her average status – she knows she’s not going to be the one to discover the cure for cancer or join the Peace Corps. Senior holds a bit more action than what she bargained for though.

For one thing, it brings her quirky cousin Foster who can’t seem to understand how to socialize like a normal person. To make matters worse she has to endure freshman gym that she has successfully avoided up to this point. Of course she has this with Foster. Then the irritating(ly hot) star linebacker Ezra Lynley decides he wants to bug her during class, too. What’s a girl to do?

******************

This story was a very cute read. It was short and sweet, but funny, too. I enjoyed it as a little fluff one in between heavier reads.

What I like most about this was Devon’s independence. She didn’t need a boy to begin with, and even though she was pining for her best friend, she didn’t let it get in the way of her normal life. She’s strong on her own and it doesn’t bother her that she doesn’t have a boyfriend. Also her obsession with Jane Austen is something I totally get. I love Jane. 🙂

I was confused how much free time Devon had. I personally don’t have that much, and she seems to be able to do anything on a whim. I wish I had a more relaxed schedule!

Devon’s relationship with her cousin Foster is something that I recognize in myself. Foster reminds me of someone I know and his relationship with Devon is really similar to that of mine with that person who shall remain unidentified. I loved seeing their awkwardness evolve into something that they believed was worth fighting for.

Ezra was a little irksome. I didn’t like him as much as I feel like I should have. Oh well. Can’t win ’em all.

Okay, that’s all for now! Happy reading!

Sophie

One thought on “A Little Jane to Live By

Leave a Reply

