Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Second Chance

Hello! For this post, I’ll be reviewing Firstlife by Gena Showalter. I really enjoyed this one, and I was really interested in the concept of having a second life. Before this novel I didn’t know that Showalter had written the series about Alice in Wonderland. I may have to read those now, too! I received this through my awesome bookstore/job, and can’t wait to share it with you on the 23rd!

Here’s an overview:

Firstlife (Everlife, #1)

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood’s world is divided. No longer does the life you live first matter – it’s about your second life. During your first life you must decide which world you will align with – Myriad, the world of darkness, or Troika, the world of light. They’ve been warring for souls from Earth trying to gain more soldiers. Both sides are vying for Ten each believing she’s a crucial part to their war. Ten herself is locked away in an asylum with others who have been sent to be punished – her for her refusal to follow her parents’ wishes to sign with a world. Soon Ten finds herself on the run – from both sides. Who can she turn to?

*************

This book was super exciting! I loved the concept of a known afterlife – not even one but two! It’s something I haven’t thought about and was interesting to read about.

At first I was kind of bored and skeptical. It took a little bit of reading for me to really get invested in the story. After that I couldn’t get enough of it!

What really surprised me was the character development. Ten is initially portrayed as hard and unfeeling, but after a while you see different hidden depths to her character. Her ignorance kind of annoyed me, but I realized she was only 16 and didn’t know much yet. It must have been terrifying to be betrayed by the people you should be able to trust the most. I really loved her resilience.

I liked the dynamic between Troika and Myriad. You got to see some occasional transmissions between the Laborers and the lands. It was cool to see both sides of the argument.

I couldn’t decide which one I personally would sign with. I feel like the utilitarian, straight-forward nature of Myriad fits my personality really well. On the other hand, I think that Troika’s positive outlook on life. It’s so different from Myriad and it’s definitely a balance of ideologies.

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

