Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Pyromania

Hello, it’s Sunday again! Expect about one to two reviews on this day. I may have to adjust the schedule so I can space out my reviews, but for now I might post multiple on this day. This one is for My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul. This was the third book sent to me by Source Books for an honest review. This book is set to publish on April 5th of this year. Since I talked about prom yesterday, I think it’s pretty fitting that I reviewed it today 🙂

Here’s a little about the plot:

25695607Despite the best of intentions, seventeen-year old, wisecracking Hank Kirby can’t quite seem to catch a break. It’s not that he means to screw things up all the time, it just happens. A lot. Case in point: his attempt to ask out the girl he likes literally goes up in flames when he spells “Prom” in sparklers on her lawn…and nearly burns down her house.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, Peyton Breedlove, a brooding loner and budding pyromaniac, witnesses the whole thing. Much to Hank’s dismay, Peyton takes an interest in him—and his “work.” The two are thrust into an unusual friendship, but their boundaries are tested when Hank learns that Peyton is hiding some dark secrets, secrets that may change everything he thought he knew about Peyton.

 

**************************

This cover is so fitting to the book, I can’t help but love it! The girl is someone I would picture as Peyton for sure.

I was hesitant to read this at first because I kind of could tell what was going to happen right at the beginning. It didn’t ruin the book, but I feared a cliche. It was not. What I thought would happen did happen, but not in the way I thought it would. The unconventional nature of this book makes it stand out from most of the other books I have read. I was worried it was going to be similar to Simon v. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, but it went in a totally different direction.

I like how Reul was able to take such heavy subjects and talk about them in a way that I haven’t seen before. Hank, the main character, deals with a lot – an alcoholic dad among other things. Peyton, too, has her fair share of luggage, but I like how they dealt with what came to them. The weight of some of the topics in the book surprised me. I didn’t think it would go in this direction, but I’m glad it did. Reul was refreshing and lighthearted throughout.

Hank’s comic book obsession is something I found to be really interesting. I never was into comics that you read out of a book – only the ones in the Sunday paper really. Until this month, I had never been in an actual comic book store. This little quirk of his made me like Hank even more. Comics are something of a dying art, but I think they’re coming back. I liked this aspect of the story the most.

If you want a formal rating, I gave it 4/5 stars on Goodreads. Definitely worth the read!

Happy reading,

Sophie

Leave a Reply

