Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Rules for 50/50 Chances

Hello, it’s Sunday again! You know what that means – it’s review day! I am so behind on reviews, but don’t worry they’ll be up soon! I’m thinking Tuesdays will become another day for me to post reviews so I’m not clouding your feeds with a ton of them. To start off today, I will be talking about Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kate McGovern.

Here’s a brief description: Seventeen-year-old Rose Levenson has a decision to make: 23296348Does she want to know how she’s going to die? Because when Rose turns eighteen, she can take the test that tells her if she carries the genetic mutation for Huntington’s disease, the degenerative condition that is slowly killing her mother.

With a fifty-fifty shot at inheriting her family’s genetic curse, Rose is skeptical about pursuing anything that presumes she’ll live to be a healthy adult-including her dream career in ballet and the possibility of falling in love. But when she meets a boy from a similarly flawed genetic pool and gets an audition for a dance scholarship across the country, Rose begins to question her carefully laid rules.

************************************

When I finished this book I was… a bit disappointed. I went into it with high hopes because I thought the plot idea was intriguing. I also was swooning over the cover, but I feel like it kind of missed its mark with me. This isn’t to say that it was a bad book per se, it just wasn’t the book for me.

By no means is this a negative review – there were parts I liked and feel like were spot on, but there were also parts I don’t think quite ruminated the way they were supposed to.

Right off the bat you meet the love interest. I like him – he seemed to really have his head on his shoulders. I felt like Rose’s relationship with his was a bit underdeveloped and kind of rushed.

I don’t think it helps that I did not care for Rose herself. She got on my nerves a lot – like she did to her friends and family. I feel like part of it was supposed to be that way. There is no reason for her to be so unlikable. Rose was so consumed in her own doom that she didn’t notice the others around her. It seemed as if she was too blind and worried about herself that she didn’t see the hurt others experienced. That is what bothered me the most about her. She acted as if no one else could experience the same kind of pain or identity crisis as her – that she was completely unique in her feelings. While her situation is a rare one, the feelings that go along with it aren’t, and it was hard for her to see that. I think what kept her most grounded was her best friend, whom I did enjoy.

Okay, overall it was a pretty good story. There are some parts that could have been better, but it wasn’t too bad. My rating was 3/5 stars on Goodreads. I hope this helped you in your search for a new read. By all means this my opinion, you may like it much more than me!

Happy reading,

Sophie πŸ™‚

One thought on “Book Review: Rules for 50/50 Chances

Leave a Reply

