Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life pt. 4

Whoop, whoop it’s Saturday!! Which means general update day! I have some exciting bookish news for this post!

Today I will be meeting the author of one of my new favorite books – Cori McCarthy! She wrote two other books, Breaking Sky and The Color of Rain. I have yet to read either of them, but I do love You Were Here which is her most recent release. I read this back in January because my job got three copies of her advance reader copies. It was so epic! I love, love, love this book! Read my full review here. I’ll write a about my experience next week Saturday 🙂

So my school is doing something called Live, Laugh, Love that is a mental health awareness thing. All four grades get the same presentation and are missing the first three periods on separate days. My day is Monday, and I’m curious to see what the whole thing is about. I know it’s an important topic of discussion. I have not had any mental health issues personally, but I have been affected by it. At the same time on Monday, my class will be registering for the SAT. *belated woohoo* Eh. I scored pretty well on the PSAT so I should be okay, but standardized tests kill me. Anyone else?

I am going to be on spring break soon! My family is going away this year on a cruise. I’m extremely excited to get away for a little bit. That being said, I won’t be posting in the first week of April. Beth will be posting a Wednesday Book Chat, and I’m talking to Maiya about the rest of the days. Emma and Beth will both run the Instagram account 🙂 While I will miss you guys, it’s some much needed respite from everything. I will be back reinvigorated and probably with some awesome new pics.

This week I tried reading two books at a time, and it didn’t go too great. I am hopelessly a monogamous reader. I finished A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston and am making progress in Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider. There will be a review posted of the first next week, and hopefully one of the latter the same day. I’ve decided I might have to abandon my TBR pile for the month. There are just so many books I have that I want to read, and I feel a bit confined to this pile. I have read half of them already though 🙂

I hope you have all had a good week. What was a highlight? Need to rant a little? Tell me about it below, I’d love to hear how you’re doing 🙂

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

