Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Maiya, Q & A

General Update:A Bit on Maiya

Hey there!

So the plan for Q&A stuff is obviously a bit difficult when one is not being asked questions, so I guess I’ll just ask myself some or something.

I don’t trust you. You never post. What’s your excuse?

Well, I’m a pretty busy one. While I share a few extracurriculars with Sophie, namely band stuff and Model UN, I also do Science Olympiad. As much of an English nerd as I am, science has my heart. Our program’s pretty hardcore too, which leaves me with altogether too many things to do and altogether too little time, even for reading. (GASP). When you add some semblance of a social life to that (by which I mean a super close friend and a boyfriend), it’s a bit tough to find the time to enjoy books. Reason number two is just as pathetic- lack of books. I’m in the middle of a move, which means my beloved massive library is in boxes. On top of that, the terrifying majority of my tomes are youth novels. As much as I love a good romance, I have a tendency to occasionally get frustrated and love the feel-good ness of a kid’s novel.

Okay… Book Stuff- latest favorite? General taste?

Latest favorite is Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy by a landslide. I found her first book  (Let’s Pretend This Never Happened) during a kind of rough point last year and I absolutely died of laughter. When I found out about her new book, I knew I needed to read it- and fast. Fortunately, Sophie’s place of employment (our local bookstore) had a copy, which I treated myself to. I forsee it taking the Monday Review slot for this next week by and large.

As a general rule, I’ll read anything put in front of me, whether it’s a classic, chicklit (though it’s not as much of my guilty pleasure as Sophie’s), a children’s book (these are gold), biographical pieces, historical fiction, adventure… it’s hard to find a book I dislike. Timing of when I read a book tends to shape my opinion of it more than anything else.

BACKING UP- did you say boyfriend?

Yeah, we met during a theatre thing. I’m going to take the liberty of telling you people about him because he’s in Florida on Spring Break right now and he probably won’t read this. His name is Ben, he plays French horn and piano, he’s a remarkably typically masculine guy, but we have tidbits of commonalities. He’s your stereotypical tall-dark(ish)-and-handsome, and I have made it my personal mission to get him to enjoy reading more. Yep- I’m a book person dating someone who has 5 assorted books on his bookshelf. He is insistent that it won’t work. I think I’ll win on this one.

Wow. So what other books are currently high on your lists?

Okay, favorites:

  1. Furiously Happy – Jenny Lawson, memoirs (duh)
  2. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened-Jenny Lawson, memoirs (also duh)
  3. Echo- Pam Munoz Ryan, youth fiction (music, fantasy, and history? Yes please)
  4. Love Fortunes and Other Disasters – Kimberly Karalius, fantasy fiction (sappy chicklit-y piece that I adored)
  5. The Power Of Small: Why Little Things Make All The Difference- Linda Kaplan Thaler and Robin Koval, self-help/inspirational (just read this, already super motivated. Also nonfiction rocks)

To Be Read

  1. The Glass Castle-Jeannette Walls, biography/memoir (one of the 5 books on Ben’s shelf. It has to be good.)
  2. A Thousand Pieces of You- Claudia Gray, science fiction (I saw the word science and immediately died)
  3. Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon, young adult (Gorgeous cover. That’s all)
  4. Carry On- Rainbow Rowell, young adult (it’s Rainbow Rowell,’nuff said.)
  5. Mosquitoland- David Arnold, young adult (Anything Sophie talks about that much has to be good)

So yeah, you’ll see bits of these mentioned a lot.

Sweet. Any questions for the readers?

OHMYGOSHYES!!!

Below is my favorite conversation question ever. I found it here, and it’s the best.

For reasons that cannot be explained, cats can suddenly read at a twelfth-grade level. They can’t talk and they can’t write, but they can read silently and understand the text. Many cats love this new skill, because they now have something to do all day while they lay around the house; however, a few cats become depressed, because reading forces them to realize the limitations of their existence (not to mention the utter frustration of being unable to express themselves).

This being the case, do you think the average cat would enjoy Garfield, or would cats find this cartoon to be an insulting caricature?

 

I think that’s good for now, so I hope you all enjoyed it.

Signing off,

Maiya

Author:

If I were to describe myself in one word, it would be quirky. I'm a list maker, chronic procrastinator, Science Olympian, Model UN Delegate, flautist, pianist, singer, lover of Christ, sister, daughter, girlfriend, book blogger, and probably a little bit of an oversharer.

Leave a Reply

