Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Bookish Box Review: Uppercase Box March

Hi, there! Apologies for a late post of this review, but I forgot I hadn’t done it yet! Every month I subscribe to Uppercase Box which is a Young Adult book subscription box that includes 2-3 bookish goodies in each box as well as a (signed-in some way) book. (Click the link above for more details or this one where I describe the box in more detail here.)

This month’s box included:

  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton (with a signed book plate)
  • Quotation mark earrings (not pictured because I’m bad lol)
  • “Read More” magnet
  • Stickers that went with the book

107_0590

I am so glad I didn’t buy this book from my local bookstore – I almost did. I kept walking past it and thinking “Hmm I should buy that.” I have escaped from the duplicate again this time! Here’s the full description of the book from Goodreads.

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

I can’t wait to read this one! I love that first line of description, and I have liked every single book Lisa has sent me since November. I have faith!

The earrings are really cute. Unfortunately for those who don’t have their ears pierced, they’re kind of pointless to have, but I have seen other uses of them so don’t fret! I’ve seen them put on ends of shirt collars or even just as cute props in Instagram pictures!

The magnet I do love. I have it stuck on my refrigerator now waiting for me to stick something under it. I can’t wait to use it properly!

Once again Lisa has done a wonderful job curating an awesome box! I’m looking forward to April – she’s hinted at including two books this time 🙂

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

