Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life pt. 9 + April Wrap-Up

Hello and happy Independent Bookstore Day!! Since I work at my local indie I will definitely be stopping in to shower it in some love. Local stores just have that vibe that corporate ones don’t, and so I hope you guys go do the same for your stores!

Since it’s both Saturday and the last day of April I figured I would roll my wrap-up all in one. So without further ado, here goes nothing!

This week… I had a band banquet where we all dress nice and eat (okay) food. It’s fun and we’re raucous, but it was much more bittersweet this year. Most of my friends will be graduating and it was one of the lasts that we’ll do together. I can’t believe they’ll be leaving at the end of the summer!

I also had a final concert for the extra orchestra I’m in. We played Danzon No. 2 by Marquez, Academic Festival Overture by Brahms, and some other pieces. It was fun to play, Danzon No. 2 was especially my favorite to play. I’m not sure if I’ll try out for it next year due to possible fall conflicts, but hopefully I can keep it in my life somehow.

All my AP classes are wrapping things up! Next week starts all AP testing. Mine are Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday which will be a big long haul. Fortunately I’ll be all done with them this first week. I’m not sure if I would stay focused enough to study for week 2. After this I’ll only have one real test that I need to focus on.

Prom update: I got my prom dress!!! Yeah, I finally went shopping. It’s navy with a v-neck and cap sleeves. I really like it and was lucky enough to have tried it on first. I did try on a few others but this one took the cake. Now for shoes and jewelry. 🙂

I wrote and conducted my first author interview! I met Cori McCarthy back in March and we talked about doing one for a bit, and I finally got around to writing her. If you missed out on that don’t worry, click here to read it. Keep an eye out for another interview of a member of the Bookstagram community next Friday!

I’m currently reading Unrivaled by Alyson Noel. I finished Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevive Tucholke late, late last night after my first Twitter chat. I participated in the #3rdofMayYA chat with authors like Erin L. Schneider and Harriet Hapgood. It was crazy and went really fast, but I’m glad I took part in it!

************************

So what did I read this month? 

I didn’t have a tbr this month because I always feel a little constricted when I do so I read whatever I felt like.

  1. A Tyranny of Petticoats ed. by Jessica Spotswood
  2. The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone
  3. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
  4. The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith
  5. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  6. The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder
  7. Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kimberly Karalius
  8. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevive Tucholke

I kind of fell behind a little on my reading. Yes, I did make my minimum of 8 books, but I didn’t read a classic (unless you count all the poetry I’ve had to read for AP Lit). I think maybe if I read two this coming month or three in June I’ll have cancelled out my behind-ness. As you can tell by the links I am also behind on my reviews. I promise I will catch up this month!

Next month I’ll also be part of the Love Charms and Other Catastrophes blog tour! My stop is May 13th where I’ll be posting a review along with a giveaway! I would love if you stopped by and paid a visit.

Monday you should expect a post of my anticipated reads along with a long, long list of books due for release Tuesday. Can you wait for I Read YA  week? I know I can’t!!

How was your week? What are you currently reading? How did your April tbr fair?

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

One thought on “General Update: My Bookish Life pt. 9 + April Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

