Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Book Club, Sophie

Book Chat:The Book Junkies April Discussion

Hey there Book Junkies! How did you do this month? We read A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro which was released this past March. This is a modern retelling of Holmes and Watson, but this time Holmes is a girl! Welcome the great-great-great grandchildren of the famous detective and doctor – Charlotte and Jamie! Beth and I both read this on our respective cruises (not planned!), and we both thoroughly enjoyed the book! We also are going to make our May read announcement later in this post!

Here’s the synopsis of the book:

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

A Study in Charlotte is the first in a trilogy

Want to read our reviews of the book? Here is Beth’s (link) and here is Sophie’s (link). Without further ado, here is our discussion!

Do you think you would have preferred the book if it would have been from alternating Holmes’ & Watson’s points of view?

Beth: Yes. Although I think I prefer it being all James than all Charlotte, I would have liked to have seen both of their POV.

Sophie: No, I like how it mimics the original tales in this way! While it would have been nice to know more of Holmes’ thoughts, I like how it stays true to form.

How did you find Holmes as a character? Did you like her?

Beth: Yes! Although I was a little hesitant at first, I think she made the perfect Holmes.

Sophie: I love her and her prickly self. I don’t think it would have been better if she was sweeter than the original Holmes. Her character is very well-developed, and I can’t wait to see what else Cavallaro has in store for her (and Jamie)!

Would you recommend this book to lovers of contemporary/romance, or just to lovers of mystery?

Beth: As Sophie said, I would recommend this to any lovers of YA! I would just say not to expect too much romance, though.

Sophie: I would recommend it to anyone! It’s something that’s both mystery and contemporary. It’s not scary to the point that I had a hard time staying up at night, but it’s enthralling enough that you stay hooked.

 

When you read mysteries, do you try to figure out who the culprit is? Did you have a false guess?

Beth: Of course! I did have a few false guesses but nothing serious, really.

Sophie: I love to try to predict things! I’m so bad at it, but I have fun doing it anyway. I wasn’t terribly surprised to find out who the killer was (it was hinted at toward the end), but usually I run through an entire list of suspects before I get the actual one.

The Moriarty family is brought back into the mix! Where do you think this will take our characters?

Beth: I really don’t know what’s going to happen with the Moriartys – but I definitely can’t wait to find out!

Sophie: Eeeek! I can’t wait to see the antagonism play out again! There is definitely some lingering tension over what happened with Charlotte. I’m curious to see how it’ll play out.

What did you think of Jamie, err, James?

Beth: I love him! I like how he matures throughout the book, and with the events that occur. But he still keeps his sweet, sensitive self.

Sophie: What a sweet kid. Funny story, but I read his narrative all in a British accent (or at least the best imitation my American mind can come up with). I like his loyalty, it’s an admirable character trait. I just love how sweet he is the whole time! That’s not to say he doesn’t have his moments or his own demons to deal with.

********************************

Did you read along with us? We hope you enjoyed it as much as we did! This May we are happy to announce that we’ve selected When We Collided by Emery Lord as the book of the month. This was released early April by Bloomsbury, and was a highly anticipated read by many. Can’t wait to see what the hype is all about!

Happy reading, may your shelves overflow with books, and read on!

Sophie, Beth, & Emma

Leave a Reply

