Posted in Bloggers, Q & A, Sophie

Q & A Friday: Adriana @booksthetics Interview

Hi, guys! Are you on Bookstagram? If you are you probably know who Adriana is and are as jealous of her gorgeous photos as I am. Adriana is the girl behind @booksthetics which is not only on Instagram, but Twitter and WordPress too. I had the opportunity to chat with her, and she’s so sweet! Keep reading to see what she has to say! 🙂

Sophie: Hi, Adriana! Tell us a little about yourself. Who is the girl behind the lens?
Adriana: Well, to start off, my actual name is Adriana. Nani, which is the name that I go by Nani(or simply the name that everyone calls me by), is actually a nickname given to me by my brother, Andy, when he was younger and couldn’t pronounce my name correctly. I’m sixteen, and I’m Puerto Rican (like Lin-Manuel Miranda AYEEEEEE!). My main language is Spanish, but most of the times I’ll prefer English over it. I like to think of myself as a very passionate person. I’m incredibly passionate about life and everything about it and everything that it brings us; it’s truly a privilege. I’m very passionate about veganism (which kind of goes hand in hand with my passion for life in general), and I’m passionate (it’s truly the thing I’m passionate the most about) my Faith, which is something I don’t talk much about but is a huge, huge part of who I am. I’m passionate about arts and music, when it comes to both creating it AND admiring it. And lastly, I’m passionate about literature. Way too passionate. Which is where bookstagram comes into play!
S: What made you start a Bookstagram account?
A: I actually had a multi-fandom account, before all of this bookstagram mumbo-jumbo. And while I was happy with that account, and enjoyed running it, I think I just really felt the need to create and share my own content, and to share my own thoughts and opinions, not my comments on something that’s already been thought out. It wasn’t until I came across this girl’s account (@booksforalexa) that I got this surge of inspiration and decided to finally go for it. It isn’t the greatest account out there, by any means, and she’s been inactive for quite a while (sadly), but if there’s anyone to thank for the creation of my bookstagram (or the inspiration behind it, I guess), it’s her. So yeah, it started as a need to share what I felt I had to offer and escalated quite quickly into what it is today!

S: Nature is a major theme in your photos. Is there anything else that inspires your pictures?
A: A lot of my inspiration comes from nature, yes! Apart from that though…how do I explain this? I’m a very artistic person, and I learned how to play with colors, shapes, angles and everything that relates from a very young age, and I truly believe that what comes out when you intertwine all of these, and find the best way to do so, is something amazing! Where I’m going with this is that most of the times (or you could say that always?) my inspiration comes from what I’m photographing. The colors, the shapes, the patterns, the designs, the aesthetics, etc.
S:You have over 18,000 followers on Instagram! How did you build up your account?
A: Hmmm…would it be acceptable if I said that I’ve no idea how I’ve gotten the amount of followers that I have? I think you just have to be genuine with what you put out there (your words, your content), and be genuine when it comes to socializing. Don’t talk to someone because they’re cool, or popular, or because you want a shoutout or a follow. Talk to someone because you’re genuinely interested in what they have to say and genuinely interested in getting to know the person behind the pretty pictures of the lovely words. If you keep your mind in the right place, the right people will come to you! People are drawn to genuine people, so don’t be afraid to be yourself. Apart from that, I do believe having an artistic eye and mind has a lot to do with it.
S: Do you have any advice for newbies to the Bookstagram community?
A: Be genuine!!! I cannot stress this out enough. Bookstagram should be more for yourself than for the followers, so make sure you’re happy with what you’re putting out there and everything else will fall into place!
S:You have become good friends with Jen (@myriadinklings) and Fid (@readsleepfangirl), and it’s hilarious to read your comments back and forth. What’s your advice on outreach to other members of the community?
A:Don’t be afraid and, once again, be genuine. We’re all humans, flawed and imperfect, with a passion for reading (and most likely arts, as this platform is a very visual one). There’s nothing to be afraid of. Not the popularity of the person, or how pretty their pictures are, or how intellectual and eloquent their words sound. You don’t need to pretend to catch their attention. Just. be. genuine!!! I think I’m gonna make that my life motto or something, hahaha!
S:What’s your favorite part about running a blog?
A: I haven’t blogged in a long, long time, but I’m pretty sure my favorite part about blogging is, quite simply, the freedom to share my thoughts and opinions, and knowing that someone out there is interested in reading what I have to say.
S:The reading community is so nice, however there are naysayers and people who take photos without giving credit. Have you ever had anything like that happen to you? How did you handle the situation?
A: I believe it has happened quite a few times, yeah! I usually just ask for proper credit or for the removal of my content, and most of the time it works. Now, when it doesn’t I simply try and explain as well as possible the work that we, bookstagrammers, put into our pictures and the unfairness of using our content without giving proper credit. Sometimes they’ll understand, and sometimes they won’t, and there’s not much else to do, as you already did your part.
S:What’s your biggest pet peeve when it comes to running your social media accounts?
A: I’d never really thought about this. I don’t think I have huge pet peeves when it comes to running my account. I do have a lot of pet peeves when it comes to the artistic side of it.  I really don’t like posting two similar pictures in a row. If they have the same angle or setting, I’ll (almost) always try and separate the two so that it doesn’t look so odd on my feed, unless I’m posting in rows of three. In which case, I’ll only tolerate the use of the same setting, never angles. I use a lot of different filters, depending on the picture, but they all need to go with one another. When they don’t, everything just looks off and gross and my soul can’t handle it, hahaha! Oh, and natural lighting is a must! I cannot use a picture that doesn’t have good natural lighting or at least looks like it does. I’m sure there’s so many things that I’m forgetting…
S:Alright, we’ll wrap it up here soon. Other than The Young Elites, is there a series or book you’re completely in love with?
A: Weeeeeeell, apart from The Young Elites, I’m completely obsessed with The Young Elites and The Young Elites. You should toooootally check them out. Hahahaha! A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson, the Shades of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab, Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen, the Air Awakens series by Elise Kova and An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir are some of my favorites, for sure! Oh, and did I mention The Young Elites?
S:We won’t tell – what’s a bookish confession of yours?
A: Hahahahahaha, a bookish confession of mine is that spoilers are my guilty pleasure (but only when I seek them, never when it’s uncalled for) and I spoil myself all the time. I’m the worst, I know. BUT I CAN’T HELP IT! Also, I haven’t read the Harry Potter books and I dog-ear my books. Teehee!
S: Thanks for chatting, Nani! Are there any lingering comments you’d like to say?
A:Ummm…that you’re all awesome for reading this and I love you and you should totally talk to me sometime because that makes me really, really, really happy! AND THAT YOU SHOULD TOTALLY READ THE YOUNG ELITES, THANKS, BYEEEEEEE!

*************************
I must admit it – I haven’t read The Young Elites,  I hope Adriana doesn’t mind! I need to run out a make purchase of it – maybe I’ll get it at BookCon. I hope you’ve enjoyed Nani as much as I do! You should really go check out her pictures and the girl herself! Don’t be afraid to reach out, she’s as friendly as she says she is 🙂
Stay tuned for next week – I’ll be talking with another author! Anyone have a guess as to who?!
Happy reading,
Sophie 🙂
Leave a Reply

