Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Sophie

Yay or Nay Wednesday: Buying Used vs. New

Hey there, happy Hump Day! Since it’s mid-week and I haven’t done one of these in a while, here is my 3rd (4th??) installment of Yay or Nay Wednesdays! Todaussy’s discussion is on used and new books.

The Case: You want to get a new book and you adore your local used store, but it doesn’t have a copy of the book you’re dying to get your hands on!

The Prosecution:

  • used books are a bit beaten when you get them
  • like stated above, they don’t always have the book you’re looking for
  • someone had to discard this book for a reason, what if you don’t like it either?
  • you don’t know where this book has been, what if someone read it in the bathroom?!
  • they don’t have the edition you’re looking for – new, redesigned cover, obviously

The Defense:

  • used books are cheaper which means you can get more bang for your buck
  • sometimes you find the exact copy you were looking for
  • not everyone is a destroyer of books
  • you don’t know if it’ll be there when you come back #McYolo you know?
  • you don’t need a fancy copy, one to read in print is fine enough

The Verdict:

I say this is a case to case basis. If it’s a book you’re dying to read and it isn’t anywhere used, I say go for getting it new. It’s kind of like the hardcover vs. softcover debate. I say to each his own. If you don’t mind a battered book, by all means buy used! However I myself am a buy new kind of gal, so I totally understand people who like them new, shiny, and unadulterated.

*****************************

I hope you enjoyed my chat today! Do you buy new or used? Do you have a preference? Tell me below in the comments!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

5 thoughts on “Yay or Nay Wednesday: Buying Used vs. New

  1. I quite like used books a little more than new ones. 🙂 A big reason is that most of them have a lot more personality due to their age… By that I mean the small notes, scribbles, and doodles that the previous owner(s) would have left. Some even have book marks in them! 🙂 It’s quite exciting to find these!

    Like

  2. I looove searching through used bookstores. They have such an amazing vibe to them. I love that sometimes you’ll come across a book that you otherwise might not have known even existed. I also really love when books look pre-loved. The cheaper price definitely helps too, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

