Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life pt. 12 (I think…)

Hi, guys! Happy Saturday! It’s gorgeous here in Michigan right now and the weather is supposed to be warm all weekend! I hope to get some reading done outside, especially since I don’t have too much to do otherwise (I think…).

This week I…

Got my first A on a Calculus test all semester! It was the last test, but it was a nice note to end on. For those of you who have been following my updates regularly, you know I have been struggling with Calculus all year and this was a proud moment for me. I worked really hard and this one just clicked for me. I will be glad when I’m done with this class’s final though! (If I do well enough I’ll bump my overall grade up to an A-, which has eluded me pretty much all year.)

I said goodbye to all my senior friends. It was their last week of school, and I am quite jealous. I know it’s not a permanent goodbye, but the hallways always seem so empty after they leave. On the upside, I get to park in senior parking. I’m sad all my friends are gone, since I don’t have a ton of friends in my class, I’m going to have to make the best of it next year.

BookCon was amazing! I met so many wonderful authors and bloggers. They came from

KODAK Digital Still Camera
Me and David Arnold, one of my favorite authors

everywhere, flying in from Florida, driving in from an hour away, or flying in internationally. It was so cool to see how many book lovers there really are in the world and it gives me hope that people will always keep reading. I got to participate in the Penguin Teen Trivia Challenge, and although my team didn’t win it was fun chatting with the authors that helped our

KODAK Digital Still Camera
Penguin Teen authors

team (Ransom Riggs and John Corey Whaley). Other authors present were David Arnold, Ruta Sepetys, Sabaa Tahir, Tahereh Mafi, and Richelle Mead. If you read yesterday’s post, you know that I met Siobhan Vivian as well. It was nice chatting with her – she’s very approachable so don’t be afraid to say hi! I met author Monica Hesse who wrote Girl in the Blue Coat.  One of the highlights of my day was meeting Jennifer Niven, not only once, but twice (thank you, Dad!!!)! She is as lovely and friendly as she is on social media! Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman were there signing copies of Gemina which I was really excited to get because Illuminae is a masterpiece. The last author I met was Nicola Yoon who was signing copies of The Sun is Also a Star. I can’t wait to dive into all of my beautiful ARCs and finished copies!

I finally finished two books! I had been stuck on both for about a week which was excruciatingly slow for myself. Usually I can get two done and start a third in roughly 5 days. I read When We Collided by Emery Lord and Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. That was my last Austen novel I believe and now I have read all of her pieces. While it was a good book, it wasn’t her best. I can see why it’s not as popular as Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility. I wrote my AP Lit final exam on it, and that was tough because there weren’t any open-ended prompts that really fit it so I had to work with what I had. When We Collided is the May pick of The Book Junkies. It is beautiful and I can’t wait to discuss it at the end of the month!

I am also nearly caught up with all of my reviews. I will be posting them on Sundays and occasionally on Tuesdays, so keep an eye out for those!

Today I’m…

Volunteering at my local middle school to do hair and makeup for little girls for a princess party. I only need a half hour to complete my needed NHS hours so I decided this was the best option I had.

Other than that, I’m not sure what I’ll be doing. I need to check in with my mom to see if she needs anything.

Next week looks…

Not busy until Thursday. Graduation is Thursday night and it will take forever. I have to go for my sister, but also I’m required to play in the band for the ceremony. We have to sit outside, and it gets really cold when the sun goes down. There’s going to be a bonfire afterward, so I’m excited to go.

Okay, I’m gonna head out now. I think this post is quite long especially with my BookCon rant. Maybe I’ll write up a full post with all of my photos.

How was your week? What were you up to?

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

