Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw

Hello guys! How are you all? I hope you’re all well. Today’s review is of Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw. I received this in the April Uppercase Box, and really enjoyed it.

Here’s some things you might want to know about the book:

25982869Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her weed-smoking, possibly insane seventy-three-year-old neighbor.

When Scarlett’s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren’t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series—they’re the real-life kids from her high school. And if they ever find out what Scarlett truly thinks about them, she’ll be thrust into a situation far more dramatic than anything she’s ever seen on TV…

Publisher: Razorbill

Publish date: April 19, 2016

Page #: 288

**************************************

This book had me laughing out loud in class to the point where I didn’t care anymore. Never mind trying to hide my pleasure because who cares?! It started off a bit slow, but I got really into it as I kept reading.

The use of so many modern colloquialisms and references made me happy. This is a book that is truly aimed at a modern nerd. I like how Scarlett isn’t a stereotypical smart girl nerd. She doesn’t do well in school and is a bit jaded. Just because she’s into writing fanfic and wears odd glasses doesn’t automatically make her smart. I like her all the better for this trait of hers.

Gideon bothered me a bit. His character was just so…teenage boy. It’s not a bad thing because that’s exactly what he’s supposed to be, so Breslaw nailed it there. I guess I’m over the immature teen boy right now. I need a nice young man, is that too much to ask for?! Scarlett has backbone, and I’m glad she does. Her strength and firm beliefs made me love her more than I did before.

One of my favorite quotes from this book is, “I mean, McYolo, you know?” because it’s perfect. I had to tab that entire passage and made my friends read it. They just laughed and like when I quote it to them. At least like it when I quote it to them.

This would be a great beach read! CAUTION – YOU MAY BE LAUGHING OUT LOUD so if you don’t want people to stare I advise against reading it in public. If you don’t care then do it you little rebel you.

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw

Leave a Reply

