Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Sophie

Book Chat: May Wrap-Up & June Anticipation

Hey, there! This Wednesday I’ll be wrapping up my May reads. I have thankfully gotten back on track with all of my reading for my challenge on Goodreads (though I wasn’t really behind to begin with). Sorry for no bookish debate today, but since today is the first of the month (woohoo!), I found it best for me to talk about this stuff.

So this month I read 8 books including two May releases. I have kept up on my reviews pretty well (thankfully), so I’ll link what I have below. The rest are to come!

In May I read:

I’ve decided that I don’t want to review classics, however I will review them upon request. I made my quota of one classic this month! Hopefully I’ll be able to get in two next month since I’ll be done with school. I’m gearing up to go to Brown (20 more days!!), so hopefully I pack enough books for three weeks!

This month is bringing so many good books! My wallet is sobbing at this point. I can’t help myself – I order books when I have down time at work. Some of my anticipated releases are:

I received this through my work as an ARC and I’m currently working my way through it. I can’t wait to share more thoughts on this!

I read this a while ago and I just shared my review! This is a book that approaches grief and loss in a very unique way. I’m going to need a Loose Ends List myself!

I got to read this early too, thanks to the folks over at Simon & Schuster via NetGalley. My review of this will be live on its release date!

I keep seeing this on Instagram! My friend Beth read this through NetGalley and said it was really good. The premise intrigues me, and I’m always down for a thriller to kick off the summer.

In AP Euro we focus on Henry VIII and the Tudor family a lot, so I really want to read this one! Lady Jane Grey only was queen for 9 days until Mary and Elizabeth had her head chopped off err- I mean had her disposed. I haven’t seen anything that features her, and I’d really like to see what these ladies think!

I read The Duff last year and laughed out loud (as well as sobbed). I couldn’t help but love her voice throughout the entire novel. While the synopsis on this is different, I’m curious to see what happens. I found out about this through a podcast that I like to listen to 88 Cups of Tea that’s run by Yin Chang. (You should really give her a listen – Yin is so funny and sincere, and she has interviewed some really awesome authors like Jenny Han and Leigh Bardugo.)

These are only a few of what I’m excited for. I’ll be sharing more throughout the month with my Bookish News posts so keep an eye out for those!

Have a wonderful rest of the week! What are your anticipated reads for June? How is your reading goal going?

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Book Chat: May Wrap-Up & June Anticipation

  1. Lovely! I haven’t read any of these, but perhaps I should! I’ve posted my own summer reading goals. wonderful blog by the way, I’m sure looking forward to following as it seems we have plenty in common when it comes to books. If you feel like, check out my page and then maybe we can chat books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

