Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life pt. 14

Hey, can you believe it’s already Saturday?! I just finished up my last full week of school, so next week is finals. Everything is wrapping up so quickly and I’m ready to get my read on, anyone else with me?

This week…

Our first rehearsal with new band members was Tuesday. My section grew from 8 to 12 (and we lost 2 members as seniors). This year’s show will/is Phantom of the Opera and I’m excited to perform. The songs we’ll be playing are Phantom of the Opera, Music of the Night, Masquerade, and Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again. I’m looking forward to seeing the drill, especially for Masquerade because it’ll be awesome. We’re trying to talk our director into some sort of mask.

Monday after the Memorial Day parade, me and some other seniors in band went over to our friend’s house to watch Phantom and ordered Chinese. It was a good time. I haven’t hung out with them all at once before and it was nice to bond with them (as cliche as that sounds).

I took my last tests in my classes. It’s a relief to be done with learning new material because I’m just getting sick and anxious for summer. Every day it has been gorgeous outside and the sun is calling to me. I can’t wait to read outside more!

I just finished Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by good old Uncle Rick. I was laughing out loud for this one. Oh my gosh Apollo is a great narrator, if even a little unreliable. For AP Lit I’m reading The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. This won the Pulitzer Prize and has many mixed reviews on it. So far I’ve enjoyed reading it, but it hasn’t quite got me in its clutches like my teacher and the other student I’m reading along with. I’m also reading Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan which will be released this Tuesday (June 7). This one is quite intriguing as well. I love the world, and Julia is a pretty good character.

In case you missed it, I interviewed Jessica Spotswood, author of Wild Swans and editor of A Tyranny of Petticoats, yesterday. You can find a link to that here. I also wrapped up my month of May reads and what I’m looking forward to this month in releases (here is the link). My review of The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone went live last Tuesday! It’s due out this Tuesday as well.

Today I’m…

Going to an open house. It’s one of the only ones I’m going to, and I hope I won’t get awkward because I’m an awkward person sometimes. The grad and I are pretty good friends I’d say, so it shouldn’t be.

I don’t know what else I have in store for me. I didn’t have any set things to do today so hopefully I’ll get some reading done!

Next week…

It’s my last week of school! I’m so glad it’s going to be over. I’m getting ready to start writing my college application essays – they just need to release their prompts! I think with my summer program I’ve had pretty good practice writing them, and I can reuse some of them. I need to start packing for Brown! I’ll be leaving very soon, so I need to figure out what I’ll be bringing. Don’t worry, I’ll still be active on the blog, but you may see more posts from our lovely Maiya!

How was your week? What were you up to?

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

