Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

Hello! To celebrate the release of this book here is my review of it! This one I received from Simon & Schuster through NetGalley, and I was super excited to read it. I can’t believe how under hyped this book is! It is so sweet, and the cover is adorable and very representative of the book.

Here’s the description:

In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope

21525988
Goodreads | Amazon

Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up.

Welcome to the Museum of Heartbreak.

Well, actually, to Penelope Marx’s personal museum. The one she creates after coming face to face with the devastating, lonely-making butt-kicking phenomenon known as heartbreak.

Heartbreak comes in all forms: There’s Keats, the charmingly handsome new guy who couldn’t be more perfect for her. There’s possibly the worst person in the world, Cherisse, whose mission in life is to make Penelope miserable. There’s Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend Audrey. And then there’s Penelope’s other best friend, the equal-parts-infuriating-and-yet-somehow-amazing Eph, who has been all kinds of confusing lately.

But sometimes the biggest heartbreak of all is learning to let go of that wondrous time before you ever knew things could be broken.

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release date: June 7, 2016

Page #: 256

***********************************************

I ripped through this book super quick – it was so enchanting! I love all the characters, especially Penelope. She is quirky and weird, and she reminds me a little of myself.

My favorite part of this book was how it all came full circle. Each chapter is introduced by an item in the museum and it makes an appearance or plays a role in the chapter as well. They’re cute little scraps of life and a unique way of telling Penelope’s story. I like thinking about how all the little things make up one big moment and show a larger history.

Penelope’s friendships with Eph and Audrey is one I loved throughout the entire book. They love each other and despite what happens between them all they find their ways back to each other in a way. It’s always hard keeping friends in high school because everyone is moving at such a different pace. This pivotal time of their lives was very representative of how I personally experienced the changing dynamics of my own relationships.

Leder’s characters touched me on a personal level. I could relate to Penelope when it came to her relationship with Keats because of her awe and flattery. I have felt that way before with a guy, and like her and Keats, my relationship with the guy was not good. Keats is the classic cute guy, bad personality. It irks me every time because you know the main character will become tangled with him at some point.

Eph is gorgeous. That is all. 🙂

Penelope’s growth as a character is a fun one to have read. I like that she got involved in her school’s literary magazine. The literary magazine actually has inspired me to want to start one at my own school, so I’m currently in the process of trying to go about doing that. Anyway!! She learned so much and she becomes such a better person. I want to be friends with her!!!

Alright thanks for hanging with me today! I hope this review helped you choose your next book 🙂

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

Leave a Reply

