Posted in Bloggers

Bookish Guide: How To Not Buy Books

Hi everyone! I bet you just read the title and left. If you didn’t, thank you!

If you haven’t seen me around before, I’m Beth and I sometimes guest post for Sophie. When I’m not here, you can find me on my blog The Books Are Everywhere!

So, sometimes desperate times call for desperate measures and you just can’t afford the beauty sat before you. As a student, there has been many times when I’ve ended up in a bookstore and had to force myself to walk out empty-handed.

In fact, I am right now in this situation. In the past year I have managed to break not one but two laptops, and now I’m saving for an iPad. I also have other hobbies I really like to spend money on (even when I’m trying not to), and believe it or not sometimes they come above books!

So what do you do, when you’re in the bookstore (how did my feet bring me in here, again?) and the books are staring you right in the eyes and just asking, begging you to buy them?

Well, I have a couple of answers here:

Go to the library

When he decided to give up on the day. | 19 Times George Michael Bluth Summed Up Your Awkward Adolescence

I know, I know. Your head is going “don’t do it! You’ll have to take them back and then your heart will break!” but sometimes it is the right answer. And if you love the borrowed book a lot, you can always guilt-free buy it afterwards!

Buy online

I think this is commonly “the cheat way to buy books”. But although I’m sure we all love to purchase books from our local bookshop, sometimes it’s not only cheaper but nice to wake up and open some bookmail!

Borrow them from a loving friend!

movies arrested development 2x18

If you’re lucky enough to have friends that not only own a lot of books but trust you with theirs, do a trade! You can both discover books you haven’t read yet without splurging on the cost.

Buy second hand, or even better – for charity! 

I can’t resist buying books in charity book shops. Not only are they cheap but the money also goes to a good cause, so it’s completely acceptable to buy them!

Give up and just buy them all

What a fun, sexy time for you...

Sometimes you just need to treat yourself. Yes, it might be bad for the wallet but your heart is singing, and that’s what really matters!

How do you (try to) stop buying books?

– Beth

Author:

I'm a bibliophile who reads mostly YA! I review and blog about my love here at The Books Are Everywhere.

3 thoughts on “Bookish Guide: How To Not Buy Books

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! I completely advocate for the very first! Go to the library! I find that I save so much money that way, and even use the Overdrive app to check out books to my kindle from my couch! Now it has happened on occasion that I have read a library book that I love and decide that I must own to reread again and again such as The Night Circus, for example. I also totally agree with the last one of treating yourself from time to time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Libraries are awesome, and they’re great places for introvert bookworms like me to hang out 🙂 I love doing that, then if you didn’t like a book then you don’t have to get rid of it because you didn’t buy it in the first place!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

