Posted in Beth, Bloggers

Let’s Discuss! I Haven’t Read Harry Potter

Hi guys! It’s Beth here, back with another discussion post for you! Can I just start by saying how proud I am of Sophie? She’s staying in a dorm at Brown for the next 3 weeks! I wouldn’t be able to do that! Let’s all wish her the best of luck with her time there ๐Ÿ™‚ *good luck Sophie!*

Todayโ€™s post is going to be a quick chat about a very popular series Iโ€™ve never actually read.

I can almost hear the shock through the screenโ€ฆhang on, a book blogger who hasnโ€™t read one of the most popular fantasy series ever? Yes, guys, yes.

Iโ€™ve just never got round to it. As a kid I read Jacqueline Wilson and Jacqueline Wilson alone, with the exception of a few random library booksโ€ฆbut I was never tempted towards Harry Potter.

I think this was purely due to the fact I was never interested in fantasy. I always went towards contemporary purely because thatโ€™s what I was used to, and frankly I was scared to branch out to different to different genres.

The second reason is because Iโ€™ve only ever read 3 series and theyโ€™re all trilogiesโ€ฆfor a long time Iโ€™ve been very daunted to start a series longer than that.

But now, after reading a variety of genres in YA and adult novels, Iโ€™m ready. Iโ€™ve read 4 of the 15 part Morganville series and found out that if you love the characters enough, having more books is the best thing rather than the worst.

And fantasy isnโ€™t so bad, after all.

Have you been daunted by a series like I am with Harry Potter?

Iโ€™ll hopefully finally be starting this series in June or July and reviewing them ASAP! Head over to The Books Are Everywhere to keep up-to-date on my reviews.

-Beth

May your shelves forever overflow with books! โ˜ฝ

Author:

I'm a bibliophile who reads mostly YA! I review and blog about my love here at The Books Are Everywhere.

8 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss! I Haven’t Read Harry Potter

  1. Hahaha.. Even I’m one of the (rare) few that haven’t read the Harry Potter series and have got a looooot of grief for it. ๐Ÿ™‚ The books have always seemed like they would need me to invest my time exclusively in them, and not let me get around to the other books that I want to read. But anyway, I’m hoping to read the book sometime this year *fingers crossed*. Good luck to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. But but but! Only kidding ๐Ÿ˜‰ you’ll get there, I’m not really a trilogy or fantasy-ish reader but as a kid I read Harry Potter and loved it (parts of it, I admit not all the magic parts)…so one day I think you’d be good to read it! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure I’ll like it more than I’m expecting ๐Ÿ™‚ There are always exceptions with genres I’m not (too) keen on, and Harry Potter could be one of those!

      Like

Leave a Reply

