Posted in Beth, Bloggers, Book Chat

How To Read More

I know you probably just read that and thought ‘but how am I meant to read more? I can’t improve my speed! It’s impossible!’ but there kind of is a way. You see, I’ve found with reading that there are a lot of ways you can get reading time in, and it doesn’t always mean changing your day-to-day schedule!

Read first thing in the morning and last thing at night

This might sound random, but it actually helps. There are usually times when I’m messing around on my phone at these times, when I could be reading!

Read in the car

If you don’t get car sick, I find this a really useful time to read (unless you’re driving, of course!). Weirdly, I have to sit in the front of a car to not feel sick when I’m reading, and only then am I okay!

Read in a queue

https://media.giphy.com/media/WjAAuOROAyUgg/giphy.gif

This might be an unexpected place to read, but at theme parks and conventions you can always find me reading! I think it’s a great place to go on adventures when you’re stuck in one place!

One last tip, carry a book everywhere!

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/q08Ds.gif

This actually really helps! I went on a cruise a couple of months ago, and I ended up reading whenever I could, because I had a book with me! Before shows, before dinner, after dinner, whenever I was waiting…everywhere really. And honestly, I managed to get a lot more done in a day than I normally would!

Where do you read? And how does it allow you to get more reading down?

-Beth

May your shelves forever overflow with books! ☽

Author:

I'm a bibliophile who reads mostly YA! I review and blog about my love here at The Books Are Everywhere.

20 thoughts on “How To Read More

  1. Great post. And I envy anyone who can read in a car! I get so car sick! Even just being in a car makes me nauseous. UGH.
    I also have my preferred reading times. (Like you mentioned, morning and at night.) Mine are mid-afternoon for reviewing, then I do my writing at night, and books I read *for myself* before bed – which happens never, unfortunately.
    Anyways, like I said, great post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! I can only read for a short time in a car, and strangely I usually have to start right after we leave the house, I can’t randomly start reading! I love reading in the evenings as the light in my room is lovely 🙂 thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! Those gifs are hilarious.
    I can read anywhere and everywhere!
    Here are some of my favorite random reading places:
    1. In a pool
    2. On the back of a motorcycle
    3. Rollercoasters
    4. Crossing the highway
    5. Rocket to the moon
    (Okay it’s more like in the bath, standing near a bicycle, in a car driving on a particular bumpy road, waiting for the street light to change and in my imagination. But still.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m obsessed with Arrested Development and I can’t resist using GIFs from it in posts like these. Haha they made me laugh! Waiting for a streetlight to change is one I’ve done, haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t read in the car but can manage at least one book a day if I want, just instead of watching TV, video games, laptop or phone, read instead, if teens didn’t spend so much time sleeping, they would have so many more hours in the day which could be productive

    Like

Leave a Reply

