Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan

Hi, there! I read Julia Vanishes early in the month of June before the book was released and let me say I WANT THE SECOND BOOK NOW. I want to knowwww.

Here’s what the book’s about:

22400015
Goodreads | Amazon

Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people’s senses.

It’s a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it’s a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned–crime pays.

Her latest job is paying very well indeed. Julia is posing as a housemaid in the grand house of Mrs. Och, where an odd assortment of characters live and work: A disgraced professor who sends her to fetch parcels containing bullets, spiders, and poison. An aristocratic houseguest who is locked in the basement each night. And a mysterious young woman who is clearly in hiding–though from what or whom?

Worse, Julia suspects that there’s a connection between these people and the killer leaving a trail of bodies across the frozen city.

The more she learns, the more she wants to be done with this unnatural job. To go back to the safety of her friends and fellow thieves. But Julia is entangled in a struggle between forces more powerful than she’d ever imagined. Escape will come at a terrible price.

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers              Edition: Hardcover, USA

Release date: June 7, 2016                                             Page #: 384

***********************************************************************

I wasn’t sure what to think when I got this book from my job. Someone was kind enough to put it in my mailbox because they know I’m the resident YA reader. Anywho, this book intrigued me.

I guess you could say I’m a fan of fantasy because I really liked this book. Julia is a wonderful girl. Well, I mean wonderful as in she’s a strong young woman who don’t need no man. 😉 I do love the strength her character displays. She reminded me a bit of Inej and Nina from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (review). I would love for these three to meet because I think they’d get along well. I also think Kaz would appreciate her skill with pickpocketing. And vanishing of course.

Julia’s world is something that I picture is a little Regency Era London and Renaissance Florence. There’s great wealth and art but also slums and a lot of industry. I liked the world Egan built for us here.

I like the dynamic between Julia and the rest of her gang. It’s interesting to see things play out for her and how things change throughout the book for her. I want to know more about her powers. I know there’s something deeper behind what she can do, and I’m curious to see if there’s someone who will be able to help her strengthen them. I don’t think she’s just a witch. If she were a witch, she’d be able to use her words to command the world around her. There’s definitely something more to her.

The ending left on a cliff-hanger, and I just need to know right now what happens. I hope book 2 picks up right where it leaves off!

Alright, that’s all I’ve got for today! Happy reading!!

Sophie 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan

Leave a Reply

