Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

Bookish News: Week of 18 July 2016

Hey guys! I come to you a day later than usual due to the tour stop yesterday. I’m happy to share all of the new releases from this week and so many other things!

Today’s releases:

ICYMI here’s what happened last week!

  • Title + cover reveal for Jeff Zentner’s second book!

Last Tuesday Bustle magazine helped Jeff Zetner announce his second book Goodbye Days. They also had the opportunity to share the cover, and it’s gorgeous! You can read the full article for this here. I read the description on Goodreads, and it sounds amazing! I can’t wait to read his debut The Serpent King, and you can add it to your Goodreads here.

Synopsis:

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. But now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation.

Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a “goodbye day” together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.

Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver—but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these Goodbye Days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison?

  • 8 more books planned for Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses series!!

You read that right! 6 more books are planned to being tacked onto the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, which means MORE RHYSAND *squealing* If you haven’t read ACOTAR yet I highly recommend it! It starts off a little boring but I promise it sucks you right back in there. (Read my full review of that here.) 2 additional books are set to release for the Throne of Glass series. I never started this series, but I know A TON of people love this so I had to include it. Entertainment Weekly helped announce these gems, and you can read all about it right here.

  • Leigh Bardugo announced her tour for Crooked Kingdom

First I just want to say, read Six of Crows because it’s amazing and you won’t regret a thing. (Full review here.) I cannot wait for this sequel to come out this fall because I need more Kaz in my life! I hope there’s a perspective for Wylan in this one — I was curious to see what he had to say on the whole thing. If you remember, Crooked Kingdom will have red-stained pages, and it will go gorgeously with Six of Crows. Fierce Reads and Leigh are holding a giveaway to be Leigh’s special guest at her launch party at The Strand in New York City. Enter to win here.

Here is the tour schedule:

The closest stop to me is Naperville, and now is when I lament living so far from major cities because not many authors come to Michigan 😭

  • Jennifer Yuh Nelson was selected to direct Darkest Minds 

Alexandra Bracken’s debut series now has a director for its movie! Nelson was the director for Dream Works’ Kung Fu Panda which had Jack Black as the voice of Po. This will be Nelson’s own debut as a live action director. Read the full article from Hollywood Reporter here.

  • Always and Forever Lara Jean has an ETA!!!!

April 4, 2017 is the expected released date of Jenny Han’s Always and Forever Lara Jean. This is the third book to what was originally a duology of To All the Boys I Loved Before. (My review of both books is here.) I can’t wait to see what Han has in store for Lara Jean – she is one of my favorite female characters, and I’m hoping to see Jenny out on tour for this one! She wrote one of my all-time favorite books Shug, which is a middle grade coming of age novel. Not much else has been released in regards to Always and Forever but I’m sure there will be much more to rave about when we get a description and a cover!

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m stoked with all of these new things that I found! What are you looking forward to this fall?

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

One thought on “Bookish News: Week of 18 July 2016

Leave a Reply

