Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Hello! This is a review of the book I got in the May Uppercase Box. (You can read my review of that here.) The funny thing about this is that I was writing my Bookish News post and I found this book through that. It passed through my radar, but was a funny coincidence when I opened my Uppercase.

Here’s some things you might want to know about the book:

Maguire is bad luck.

No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs

22297294
Goodreads | Amazon

each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time the rollercoaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch.

It’s safest for Maguire to hide out in her room, where she can cause less damage and avoid meeting new people who she could hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star. Jordy is confident, talented, and lucky, and he’s convinced he can help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away. But it turns out staying away is harder than she thought.

From author Paula Stokes comes a funny and poignant novel about accepting the past, embracing the future, and learning to make your own luck.

Publisher: HarperTeen                          Edition: Hardcover, USA

Publish date: May 17, 2016                   Page #: 382

***********************************************************************

Maguire is awesome. I really loved Stokes’ writing style and how she approached this topic. Mental health is something that is being discussed more and more lately and I think this book is another good representation of that.

The story opens with Maguire going to see her therapist. The way she approaches therapy is one that I feel like a lot of people do when they don’t want to actually go. I like her little quirks – the good luck rituals, the research. She reminds me of myself in the way she is always prepared and wants to be in control. A lot of people want to be in control, and Maguire is struggling to feel like she has it so she does it in every way she can.

All of the string of events that happen to her are a little outrageous. While they aren’t entirely phony, I know speaking it’s unlikely that all of that would happen to her. I like the tension and element of weirdness that this adds to the story. Maguire truly can’t be understood by other characters and she knows that. Her journey working against her bad luck is one that made me smile and laugh and cry.

Maguire has a wonderful support system the entire book – she just doesn’t realize it. Her mom is a beautiful woman and I like how they want to heal themselves together. I like how Jordy never pushed her to hang out with him. Though he was persistent he never forced himself or his friendship. Penn and Jade deserve their own shoutout in their own right, too! I love how easily Jade befriended and accepted Maguire. It was something she really needed in her life.

THE PLOT TWIST HAD ME LIKE WHHHHAAAAAAAAAATTTTT?!?!??! I honestly love the irony and the way Maguire rises above her situation. It’s the straw that breaks the camel’s back, and I love how she takes the experience to grow instead of retreating into herself like before.

I hope this review has helped!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

One thought on “Book Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Leave a Reply

