Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: This is My Brain on Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer

Hello! How are you? I hope you’re having a good day! I love, love Strohmeyer’s Smart Girls Get What the Want because Gigi is beautiful. When I saw this I knew I had to read it.

Here’s what the book is about:

Addie Emerson doesn’t believe in love. Not for herself, anyway. With one year left of high

26116425
Goodreads | Amazon

school, she’s more interested in snagging a full scholarship to Harvard than a full-time boyfriend.

That doesn’t mean she’s oblivious to the ways of the heart. Or, rather, the head. Because after months of research, Addie has discovered how to make anyone fall in love. All you need is the secret formula.

But will her discovery be enough to win the coveted Athenian Award and all its perks? (See above, full scholarship to Harvard.) Or will she be undone by Dexter, her backstabbing lab partner, who is determined to deep-six her experiments at their exclusive private school?

Those are the least of her problems now that she’s survived a death-defying flight with a mysterious, dark-haired boy, who has delicious chocolate-brown eyes and a few secrets of his own.

With an experiment to mastermind, an infatuated exchange student on her hands, and at least one great white shark (more on that later), can Addie’s prefrontal cortex outwit her heart? Or will she have to give in to her amygdala and find out, once and for all, if this thing called love is more than just her brain on drugs?

Publisher: HarperTeen                                Edition: Hardcover, USA

Publish date: May 10, 2016                         Page #: 352

***********************************************************************

To say the least, I enjoyed this book. I read it right after my finals were over and it was a nice transition into my summer. Addie’s thoughts and commentary were funny at times, and I was intrigued the whole time.

The story starts off right in the middle of action. I like especially how it starts because I feel like we get a really nice picture of Addie, who she is and what kind of person she is. She’s a bit prickly, but she grew on me. The awkward nerd girl trope is really apparent here, but it works for this story. I don’t like Addie as much as I love Gigi, but she’s a wonderful character in her own right.

Dex threw me for a loop. At first I thought it would go in the love triangle direct, but it didn’t and I’m glad it didn’t. I think it would have been too much if Dex and Addie ended up being romantically involved. I don’t like how his character turns out in the end. I wish he could have been salvaged, but I know why he wasn’t.

I love when female characters have other strong women around them. I find it strengthens the MC as a whole. The friendship between girls is something that I feel should be fostered even more in books. Girls need to see girls supporting girls. I think there’s too much drama and competition between women as it is and that isn’t necessary.

The ending of the book!!!!! I feel like I should have seen the plot twist, and I did have an inkling right before the end. I really liked how it ended. I can’t elaborate too much more without giving away what happened, so I’ll just say I liked much more than I expected I would. It didn’t end in an extremely cliche way either.

I would definitely recommend this if you want a lighter, funny read. It’d be great to curl up with on a rainy day or at the beach.

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

