Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life pt.20

Hi, guys! I apologize for not posting yesterday, but I was busy all week with band things and I totally forgot since I didn’t have anything planned. I’ll have more time to stay on top of it next week, so don’t worry!

This week

Pre-season band things started. That means 2 rehearsals a day Monday through Thursday. The new kids I have in my section are pretty good already, and I’m looking forward to a good season. Our senior class is already a lot like a family. We’re working together pretty well.

I haven’t had time to much other than band all week. We had a senior bonfire after our late rehearsal on Thursday so I was pretty tired on Friday. I worked a few days, and I’ll be working all weekend.

I finished An Ember in the Ashes in preparation of A Torch Against the Night this coming month. I can’t believe I have to wait until the 30th for it though!! I found this book quite intriguing. I know there has been a lot of buzz about this book, and I’d say some of it is warranted. I’ll have a review coming to you in the near future. I started Phantom of the Opera after I finished Ember. Our band’s halftime show is Phantom and I’ve seen the movie, but I wanted to read the book (duh). So far it’s going slow for me. It seems as if classics are always a slow read for me. I wouldn’t say things are vastly different in the book than the movie, but they did cut out a few details so far.

Today

It’s the start of Coast Guard Festival in my town which is Coast Guard City USA. Every year we have a festival celebrating the Coast Guard, and all week there’s a carnival down the main street, street vendors, and so many different activities that end in a parade and fireworks. (We have the best fireworks display in my opinion.)

Today is the kid’s parade which isn’t as big as the one next Saturday. I’ll be walking with my bookstore to hand out candy and flyers about our midnight release party for HP. Later on I’ll be working then I have to play in a pep band for a class reunion. After that I have to come back in to work and help with the midnight release party. It’ll be quite a busy day.

This coming week

This is the first Coast Guard week I’ve had off all of high school. I usually have band rehearsals this week but my director pushed it a week back instead this year. Instead I’ll be working, so that’ll be fun. I might go down to the carnival with some friends. I have one rehearsal Thursday to prep for the parade Saturday, and we’ll be charting somethings on the field too. The week after this one I’m going to band camp for the last time! I’ll have posts prepared so don’t worry about it. You may see a post or two from Beth again. (Don’t you just love that gal?! :))

Will you be going to a midnight release party for HP? What are you up to this week?

Happy reading!

Sophie ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

