Posted in Bloggers, Bookish News, Sophie

Bookish News: 1 August 2016

Ahhhh it’s already August! Where has the time gone?! Some amazing books come out this month (A Torch Against the Night anyone?!). I can’t wait to share my anticipated reads and my July wrap up with you soon (probably Wednesday). Anywho, here’s some bookish news for you ๐Ÿ™‚

This week’s releases

ICYMI here’s what went down last week

  • The Lady Janies will be publishing 2 additional books

The crew is back together again and writing two more novels. One is about Jane Eyre and Charlotte Bronte and is titled My Plain Jane. The second revolves around Calamity Jane and is subsequently named My Calamity Jane. The three announced this over their blog last Thursday. (Read the full post.) The Lady Janies debuted this past June with My Lady Jane which was a historical retelling of Lady Jane Grey. I highly recommend you check that one out – it’s funny, sassy, and magical.

  • The Before I Fall movie has a release date

The movie adaption of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall is set to release April 7, 2017. It stars Zoey Deutch as Samantha Kingston. Here is the Epic Reads article that covers the entire shebang.

  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts I & II released over the weekend

In a special celebration of Harry and J. K.’s birthdays, the script was released at midnight to awaiting fans. Stores across the United States held midnight release parties to welcome the affair. The Anderson Bookshop in Naperville, IL had over 2,000 participants, and The Strand in New York pulled in over 1,000 guests. My local store had nearly 100 people come for our party as well.

  • Fierce Reads’ Fall Tour has announced its stops and dates

The Fierce Reads Fall Tour will take place from October 4-10. Authors include Leigh Bardugo, Marissa Meyer, Kami Garcia, and many more. Here is the fullย tour scheduleย . I wish there were stops closer to me. I live in the Midwest, specifically Michigan, and there are almost never any tour stops here. I never get the chance to go to any big book launches and I really, really wish I did. Usually the closest stop is in Chicago/Naperville which is at least 3 hours away from me. Okay, rant over.

What are you looking forward to this week? Do you think you’ll make it to a tour stop?

Happy reading!

Sophie ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

