Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Jodi Meadows

Hey guys! I received this book in the June Uppercase Box, and I loved it so much! For those of you who don’t know, I’m a bit of a history buff. I’ve taken AP Euro and US and I’m enrolled in AP World this year. I find it so fascinating! Lady Jane Grey is a story that is skimmed over so much in history, and I love that these ladies have given her one that is worthy of such a strong woman.

Here’s some details about the book:

26795352The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: 7 June 2016

Edition: Hardcover, USA                                      My Rating: 5/5 stars

_______________________________________________________________

I was sooo excited when I saw this in my Uppercase box this June. It was one of my anticipated reads this year, and I accidentally had already bought a copy – good thing it was returnable! My edition is signed by all three authors courtesy of Uppercase.

First off, can we just talk about the characters? All three of them are so wonderful and funny! Jane is one I identified with the most – not just because she was the only female. I love her bookish nature and that she took a book with her everywhere. She reminds me of a 16th century Rory Gilmore. (Anyone else watch Gilmore Girls?!) I feel like she was such a wonderful woman and this book makes me want to meet her!

One of my favorite elements of the book was the magic. It added a heightened sense of humor and steered away from a very politically charged subject. (King Henry VIII creating the Anglican church to marry Anne Boleyn upset just a few people and there is the whole Catholic vs. Protestant thing.) I feel that if they hadn’t done this it would have gotten very political very fast.

The writing style is gorgeous. It’s witty and one of the best collaborations I’ve read. I love how it combines historical elements with magic. The narrators become their own characters and I love the relationship they form with the reader. Their snarky comments and little historical factoids make this one of the most fun reads.

That’s all for now!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Jodi Meadows

Leave a Reply

