Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Sophie

Yay or Nay Wednesday: Writing in Your Book

Hi there! I haven’t done a bookish debate in forever and I wasn’t sure what to post tomorrow so I brought this segment back! Today’s topic is the hotly debated question of writing in books.

The Case

Is writing in a book you’re reading a loving tribute to the text or is it sacrilege?

The Prosecution

  • Writing in it destroys it’s condition
  • Value is lost when you try to resell them (see above about condition)
  • There isn’t always enough room to write what you want
  • YOU’RE RUINING THE PAGES OF TEXT
  • You could be using a reading journal where you’re supposed to write things
  • Do you really want people you’re loaning it to to know your mind?

The Defense

  • It is a sacred interaction between you and the text
  • Mortimer Adler everyone
  • What if you forget your reading journal?
  • Loaning your books to plebs? No thanks
  • You get to look back at your original thoughts when you reread
  • It’s easier to find what you’re looking for when you go back

The Verdict

All in all, I love to mark my books. In my sophomore year my AP Language teacher had us read How to Mark a Book by Mortimer Adler (linked above) and I’ve been in the habit of doing so ever since. Sometimes it’s with pen or pencil, but lately I’ve been using sicky note tabs because they’re much easier to see when I go back. If I’m feeling fancy I color code, but usually I just stick a tab in when I want to. It’s a pain for me to drag around a reading journal and it’s much quicker to jot in the margins. My friends who I’ve loaned these out to say they love to see my thoughts progress on the page.

So there, call me a heretic for doing so, but I like to put pen to paper as they say. What do you do?

Happy reading!

Sophie πŸ™‚

P. S. You may also be horrified to find out that I dog-ear my pages too.

One thought on “Yay or Nay Wednesday: Writing in Your Book

Leave a Reply

