Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin

Hey guys! I hope you’re having a good day! Today I’ll be reviewing Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin. I picked up the first book, Wolf by Wolf, last October because it was sent to me in my first Uppercase package. (Seriously though, you need to go check that out!) I was super excited to pick up a copy of this at BookCon, and I’m so glad I finally read it!

A little bit about the book:

The action-packed, thrilling sequel to Ryan Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf.

There would be blood.
Blood for blood.
Blood to pay.
An entire world of it.

26864835
Goodreads | Amazon

For the resistance in 1950s Germany, the war may be over, but the fight has just begun.

Death camp survivor Yael, who has the power to skinshift, is on the run: the world has just seen her shoot and kill Hitler. But the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against the New Order, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.

But dark secrets reveal dark truths, and one question hangs over them all: how far can you go for the ones you love?

This gripping, thought-provoking sequel to Wolf by Wolf will grab readers by the throat with its cinematic writing, fast-paced action, and relentless twists.

 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers            Page #: 481

Expected release: 1 November 2016                                       My rating: 5/5 stars

Edition: Harcover, USA

******************************************************************

This was my first read this August, and I honestly am really surprised with how long it took me to finish it. It’s the first in a stack I’m reading for ARC August, and I hope my reading picks up soon!

If you haven’t read Wolf by Wolf yet I’m going to go ahead and refer you to my review for that one because while I can guarantee no spoilers for this book I will talk about the ending of that one. If you like spoilers read on.

This picks up right where Wolf by Wolf ends. Yael is running from the SS after she’s just shot the Fuhrer-turned-skinshifter. I couldn’t believe that little twist in the end, and I was dying to get my hands on this book!

Old characters come back (Yael, Henryka, Luka, Adele) and ones that were on the outskirts of the last book have more weight in the story (Felix). Since it’s told in third-person omniscient we get perspective from almost everyone as well. I love the development of Luka and Felix as characters. They were side characters in the last book but their stories come alive in this one.

Yael is just as badass as she was before if not more. She, understandably, struggles with her morals the whole time. A defining part of her is who she believes herself to be. (Is she a monster vs. is she truly a good person?) She suffers trying to find her own identity, and since her appearance is always changing it is hard for her to define it. She does a lot of soul searching. I love how much she grows and who she becomes.

The ending of the book is heartbreaking but also very satisfying. It ends similarly to The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, and it made me happy even after everything. Felix is an interesting character to follow throughout the book. I still am not sure how I feel about him. Sure he was justified in his actions, but what it cost in the end was a lot.

This was a wonderful sequel. You definitely need to pick it up this November!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

One thought on “Book Review: Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin

Leave a Reply

