Posted in Bloggers

Book Chat: The Book Junkies July Discussion

Hi guys! I know what you’re probably thinking, “Wow, isn’t it September? Shouldn’t this have been posted last month?” You are right on both counts there my friends. I am just super behind on this, but we’re going to let that be okay because I’m busy! I promise it won’t be like this every time. Just this one month.

I just want to let you know that The Book Junkies took a hiatus in August. The three of us were quite busy this past month and couldn’t quite get around to reading The Unexpected Everything. That being said, we will be reading it this month and chatting about it. I just started it, and I’m loving it so far! We would love for you to join us! Find us on Goodreads here, and post your thoughts (spoiler-free) for a chance to be featured in the chat!

_____________________________________________________________

Just to refresh your memory, we read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins in July. It was a reread for some, and for others it was their first time reading a Perkins novel! Without further ado, here is what we thought!

Was this your first time reading Anna? What do you think? If not, have your thoughts changed from the first time you read it?

Sophie: This was my first read of anything Stephanie Perkins. I absolutely loved it, and I see now why people love her writing so much! I want to study abroad now, and I wish I had a squad like Anna did. (Having an Etienne St. Claire as well wouldn’t hurt either 😉 )

Beth: No, this was my second time! My thoughts did change a little as I have since visited Paris myself, and I totally admire Stephanie even more now. She created the perfect atmosphere for such a beautiful, romantic city.

Emma: I first read this book at a time when I went through contemporaries like they were going out of fashion! If I’m honest, I’m not such a big fan of the genre now, but regardless of that, this book is such a cute love story that I can’t help but like it still!

What do you think of Anna’s passion for film?

Sophie: I like that she has a hobby/passion. She knows what she wants and she’s going to go after that. I love how she got to discover a whole new side to film in Paris. Anna is to film as I am to books. 🙂

Beth: I loved it! I found her very relatable as she owned a blog just as we do!

Emma: I thought it was cool reading about her love for films!

What did you think of Etienne St Clair?

Beth: oh my, he’s so adorable!! I love that he wasn’t perfect…he was vulnerable and made mistakes. That just made him even more real and lovely!

Sophie: What a hunk. I loved Etienne and his imperfections. The whole thing with Ellie bothered me a bit though.

Emma: I totally agree with Soph – I didn’t like the Ellie situation! Otherwise, he had such a sweet personality – where can I find my own Etienne?!

How did you find Paris as a setting?

Beth: perfect and perfectly described. I love how instead of Paris being used as a cheesy setting, it’s quirky and beautiful. Just as the real city is!

Sophie: I want to go to Paris now!!!!!!!!!!! Take me abroad people! I think it became more of a real city through this book than it ever has been portrayed.

Emma: Beautiful! The way Stephanie Perkins described it was amazing – I remember after reading this book for the first time, I was desperate to go to France and visit it! However, those dreams quickly crashed and burned as my fear of flying reared its ugly head, but for the whole five minutes they lasted, it was great!

Who was your favourite character?

Sophie: I loved Meredith. She was the first person to reach out to Anna and be a friend. I love how bubbly and loyal she is!

Beth: I’ll go all out and say Rashimi! She was smart, sweet and fair.

Emma: Etienne! Like Beth said, he was just so adorable, and I loved his and Anna’s relationship/friendship.

If you had the choice, would you study abroad?

Sophie: I definitely will in college! I’m so excited to see more of the world. It’s a lot about the cultural experience and being more aware of the world and my place in it. I can’t wait!

Beth: It depends..would Etienne be there? I think I’d be way too nervous to pack up and leave to live in another country – but the idea sounds amazing!

Emma: It depends on the place, but I think I would! (As long as I could get there by boat…) The idea of studying abroad just seems like such a lovely idea!

______________________________________________________________

Thanks for hanging out with us and reading! It was so much fun to read all of her novels. If you’re curious as to my thoughts on her books click the following links (Anna | Lola). I should have my review for Isla and the Happily Ever After coming to you soon, so keep an eye out for it!

If you wanted to know Beth’s thoughts click these (Anna | Lola | Isla). We hope you join us next month!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

