Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Hello there! What better way to kick off coming back to my blog than with a book review? I don’t know what else would be better, honestly. This is one I read back in August (ugh I know, it was forever ago), and I loved it so much I had to write about it for Justine. 

Here’s an overview:
Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in 29236380a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

Release Date: 30 August 2016

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Edition: Hardcover, US

Page #: 416

My Rating: 5/5 stars

*************************************************************

Charlie is one of my favorite female characters. There is so much strength and vigor within her character, and I admire Glasgow for writing her this way. Her story is so raw and real that I couldn’t put this down.

This is a fantastic book on mental health. Since I don’t personally experience things like this, it really gave me a good perspective as to how it feels for some people. I know things aren’t the same for everyone and that this is just one case of what can and does happen, but I feel like it shed some good light upon a situation that needs more awareness. 2016 was a great year that raised a lot of awareness about mental health issues, and I look forward to this year for even more to come.

One of my favorite parts of the book was Charlie’s unlikeability. She is a bit prickly at first, and you only feel pity for her as she feels trapped within her mind. It’s invigorating to see her become her own person and empowering not only herself, but women around her. Charlie’s story is a good example of the struggles in life in general. Not only does she need to overcome her addictions, but she also doesn’t have a strong support system. She demonstrates that while it is hard and every day is a new day full of battles, you must push on to get better. Not every day will be a good one but it doesn’t mean you should stop fighting.

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

One thought on “Book Review: Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Leave a Reply

