Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Sophie

Book Chat: 2016 Wrap-Up + Things I’m Looking Forward To

Hi guys! I hope your 2016 year found you with a wealth of books and reading. I know mine did! I found that as the summer ended I had less and less time devoted to reading and it was hard for me to get into a book.

I did continue reading fortunately, but it was slow going, and I had a much slower pace than I did at the start of the year. (I read 10 books in January and 4 in December.) I averaged about 8 books a month, however I failed at my original goal of 100 books but after tweaking it I completed my new goal of 77. This year I’m hoping to read 80 (100 is my ultimate goal, but 80 is a bit more realistic). At this point I’ve read only one book, but never fear I have so much time to read!

I did a lot of exciting things this past year in books, from author meetings to author interviews this by far has been a big one. I created a more organized posting schedule for our blog in an effort to clean things up and give myself a sense of direction. I hope you like this because it’s what is working best for me! Of late I have picked up bullet journaling and that is really helping me keep track of the schedule much better than before. I petered off toward the end of the year due to busyness, but I’m back!

Here are some of my favorite moments from 2016:

KODAK Digital Still Camera
Meeting Cori McCarthy – one of my favorite authors! We had a blast chatting and she even did an interview for the blog! Read that here.

BookCon in Chicago was absolutely epic! I met some of my favorite authors and so many other people who are as enthusiastic about books as I am. It was an incredible experience and I can’t wait to go again this year in New York!

Not to mention I skyped with Beth (The Books Are Everywhere) for the first time this past December! It was so fun to finally see her. She and I met through our Bookstagram accounts a year ago and we instantly hit it off.

Oh, hey there, 2017!

Now that it’s a new year, I’m looking forward to so many things. (For one, I’ll be attending college this fall, but that’s sorta unrelated.) For a birthday present my parents got me tickets to the BookCon this June in New York! Since I went last year I absolutely fell in love and I was hoping to go back. I’m so stoked that I get to return, and I can’t wait to plan it all out. If you’re gonna be there too shoot me an email (mindofabookdragon@gmail.com) or DM me (@mindofabookdragon on Instagram or @bookdragonbooks on Twitter) and let me know. I would love to keep an eye out for you!

Other than that? I don’t know what bookish things I’ll be doing this year. Hopefully I’ll be discovering some new book stores, not to mention some amazing new releases this year. (Umm, Shannon M. Parker’s The Rattled Bones, A Court of Wings and Ruin by ya girl Sarah J. Maas, Always and Forever Lara Jean by my favorite Jenny Han to name a *few*)

What are some things you’re looking forward to? Favorite memories of 2016?

Happy reading!

Sophie 🙂

One thought on “Book Chat: 2016 Wrap-Up + Things I’m Looking Forward To

Leave a Reply

