Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Something In Between by Melissa de la Cruz

Hello! Happy Sunday, I hope you’re all holding up well. I know over here that there have been quite a few ruffled feathers (myself included), but to get away from that, here’s a book review! I received an advanced reader’s copy of this from Harlequin Teen — thank you!

Here’s some details about the book:

28688476

It feels like there’s no ground beneath me, like everything I’ve ever done has been a lie. Like I’m breaking apart, shattering. Who am I? Where do I belong?

Jasmine de los Santos has always done what’s expected of her. Pretty and popular, she’s studied hard, made her Filipino immigrant parents proud and is ready to reap the rewards in the form of a full college scholarship.

And then everything shatters. A national scholar award invitation compels her parents to reveal the truth: their visas expired years ago. Her entire family is illegal. That means no scholarships, maybe no college at all and the very real threat of deportation.

For the first time, Jasmine rebels, trying all those teen things she never had time for in the past. Even as she’s trying to make sense of her new world, it’s turned upside down by Royce Blakely, the charming son of a high-ranking congressman. Jasmine no longer has any idea where—or if—she fits into the American Dream. All she knows is that she’s not giving up. Because when the rules you lived by no longer apply, the only thing to do is make up your own.

Publisher: Harlequin Teen                         Edition: Hardcover, US

Release Date: October 4th, 2016             Page #: 432

My rating: 4/5 stars

**************************************************************

Jasmine is one of my favorite female characters. I loved her so much I wrote about her in my Fierce Feminists piece for Justine Magazine. It takes a lot to write a dynamic female character and I commend de la Cruz for doing so. Jasmine shows strength and spirit when she decides to fight back. It’s easy to sit back and feel helpless in situations when you don’t seem to have a lot of control, but she doesn’t shy away from this challenge.

The overall plot structure was decent. I liked the way it flowed and the different challenges it presented. The topic is extremely relevant to today’s situation, but it doesn’t present any sway belligerently. I don’t have any personal experience with immigration, I believe this is an accurate representation. De la Cruz herself was an immigrant and had very similar experiences to what Jasmine went through and I feel like it have a very truthful ring to it. I like the diversity and voice it gives to this issue. A lot of times it is approached from an outside perspective and it was refreshing to see it in a new light and get a better understand of how it truly can affect people.

In light of recent events, I highly recommend this if you’re looking for something to fuel your inner activist and to spark a passion within you.

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

