Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Sophie

Book Chat: January Wrap Up

Happy first day of February! I can’t believe this year is already a month over. This week I started  my first week of the new semester and already I’ve got a test on Monday. Work hard play hard amirite?

Anyway, that’s not what I’m here to write about! Since it’s the new month already and it’s such a nice clean break into my blogging schedule I figured I would write about what I read this past month and maybe some things I’m hoping to get to this month.

So far I’ve read 4 books this year. My ultimate goal is 100, but my realistic goal is 80. I read 77 books last year so I’m hoping to make that a clean round number this year. According to Goodreads I’m only 2 books behind schedule, and while I don’t really want to start off the year behind I know I’ll have time to catch up once I’m done with school this May.

This January I read:

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

When Dimple Met Rishi is an ARC I received from the author’s publicist (s/o to her for being so awesome and kind!). I loved it soooo much I already loaned it out to a friend for her to read. I’m hoping to also write up a review for Justine Magazine in addition to the one I’ll write for the blog.

I read Harry Potter because I have been nerd shamed for not finishing this series for a very, very long time (thank you Logan and Brittany especially) so this year I’ve made it one of my reading goals to do so. Slowly but surely I will get there I promise.

Passenger was released last year on January 5th and I was so excited to read it. For some reason it took me over a year to actually pick up the book but I’m so glad I did! There was wonderful character development and the plot sucked me right in.

I read The Handmaid’s Tale for my Fem Lit class and I really enjoyed it. I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect, but it was so good. It’s extremely relevant to conversations going on today especially with recent political developments. I highly recommend you pick it up to if you’re looking for something to challenge you.

I promise full reviews of Passenger and When Dimple Met Rishi. I’ve done mini reviews of the other two on my Goodreads account – just find me here.

I’m currently reading The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. If you remember, Albertalli wrote Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda which was released back in 2015 and is also being made into a movie. So far I’m really loving this new one. It’s set to release this April and I can’t wait for you all to read it too!

There are a few other titles like King’s Cage and The Last of August I’m stoked to read this month. I’m hoping to get into the Shades of London series as well.

How are you doing with your reading goals so far? What are you looking forward to reading this month?

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

