Posted in Bloggers, General Updates, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life no. 4 vol. 2

Hello, welcome to the weekend! I’m so happy it’s Saturday. Unfortunately that means it’s my last full day of committee. I’m coming to you from the Windy City at the Model UN conference which is held by University of Chicago. This is my last overnight conference, and it’s a bit bittersweet.

This week I only went to school for three days and then we left for Chicago early Thursday morning. One of my favorite parts of the trip is riding the train. I’ve only ridden the train a few times but there is something about it that I love. It’s kind of like flying but you get to get up and walk around the whole time. Opening ceremonies was Thursday night so we got to spend the rest of the day wandering Chicago. Of course I went to a bookstore (57th Street Books – my favorite one located in Hyde Park). Friday was the first full day of committees, but they didn’t start until 1. Our school’s delegation is representing the Republic of Korea and we got to meet the Deputy Consulate of Korea Friday morning. It was super cool to meet a real diplomat. I have written two pieces already and am going for an award. I’m ready for this guys, I really want it.

Today I’m hoping to get more articles out again. It’s gonna be a long day full of more committee. I have to find more things to write about but since it’s the third day we’re really getting into the thick of debate. I can’t believe I’ll be going home tomorrow. These things always feel both long and short. It’s weird, but I like it.

This week I’ve gotta get back on track with my classes. I missed two school days but really all I missed in class was statistics. I wish I didn’t miss so much school but it’s totally worth it. I have a test on Monday already but I think I’m prepared. I’ll probably panic a bit more Sunday. We’ll get there when we get there. Otherwise it’s just a normal week for me.

Happy reading,

Sophie ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

