Posted in Bloggers, Sophie

General Update: My Bookish Life no. 5 vol. 2

Hello, are you as glad it’s Saturday as me? I had a rough week and I’m just glad to have some respite. I got home super late on Sunday from Model UN and it was super fun. I love riding the train home, and it didn’t really bother me that I missed the Super Bowl. (I’m a book nerd not a sports fanatic, though I do enjoy a good game of soccer.)

I hit the ground running starting Monday with an especially long day. I also got dumped. Don’t worry, I’m honestly okay with it all and I’m just recuperating in the mean time. I’ve got lots and lots of books to keep me company. Plus chocolate and my awesome friends and family. I’ve got good people here with me and I really, really appreciate them. My bad night precipitated into Tuesday and I generally needed a pick me up, so my friend took me out for coffee before I went to orchestra rehearsal. My week got progressively better but I’m still in a bit of a funk. I’m not worried. I’m gonna pull through 🙂 I’ve concluded that books>boys. Honestly, that’s the new math equation I live by now.

I also got a giant package of books from Justine Magazine for review last week and I’m currently reading The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro which was included in that. I read A Study in Charlotte last March and I loved it so much! I can’t wait for you to read The Last of August this coming week. It’s so epically good. I also started One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey. It’s for my contemporary lit class and so far it’s very interesting. The writing is great but I’m not sure I can really attach myself to the characters yet.

Today I’m working and doing homework. I got a bit of it done so now I only have a little bit to finish up tomorrow thankfully. A few of my friends are in town from college and I think we’re going to do something. I’m excited to hang out with them after so long!

This coming week I’ve got midwinter break which gives me Friday off. It’s going to be nice having just four days to slog through. I don’t think the weather here is quite helping my mood either. I call this time of the year the winter doldrums because it gets so sluggish and I get antsy to do something. C’est la vie ma cherie.

Well that’s all for now.

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

2 thoughts on “General Update: My Bookish Life no. 5 vol. 2

Leave a Reply

