Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Hi there! I’m back at it again with another review this Sunday. This time it’s for Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. This made quite a splash when it was published last year (the day before my birthday if I may add) and it took me forever to actually read it, but my lovely friend Brittany totally did. I’m so glad to have read it, and I can’t wait to read Wayfarer.

Here’s some things about the book:

Passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

 

Passenger (Passenger, #1)
Goodreads

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion                My rating: 5/5 stars

Release Date: 5 January 2016               Page #: 486

Edition: Hardcover, US

******************************************************

I started reading this over Christmas break and I was super excited to get to it. I waited almost an entire year to actually read it and I can’t believe I did. What I loved most about it was Etta and her strength. I’m a sucker for strong female characters, and this definitely delivered.

I love different eras and this brought me right to them. I loved how detailed each setting was and how accurate it seemed to be. One of my weaknesses is that I’m a history junkie and learning about them even if it’s through fiction is awesome to me. It’s even better when they’re accurate and to my knowledge this one hits the nail on the head.

The story alternates points of view and it’s nice to see both sides of their story. I love seeing people and characters develop through the other characters’ perspectives especially in action books like this one.

Music is a huge element in this book and as a music nerd I kind of loved it. The idea of how things that are connected and interwoven through music and that music is a language everyone speaks is beautiful. I love how much it brings people together and that this was a big part in helping Etta especially come off the page. It added depth to the story that I’m not sure it would have had without it.

Overall this was a really exciting book. I moved through it at a generally fast clip, but didn’t have much time to sit down and read it. I will say that I enjoyed it when I did get the chance to read it in snippets.

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Leave a Reply

