Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review:The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Hey there! I’m here with a review on Becky Albertalli’s latest The Upside of Unrequited. This is due out this Tuesday!!!!!!!! This book was a riot! I could not put it down and I was so excited to see that it was in our bookstore’s January whitebox.

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of

9780062348708_28999
Goodreads

rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

Publisher: HarperTeen

Expected publication: 11 April 2017

Page #: 352

Edition: Hardcover, US

My rating: 5/5 stars

****************************************************************

I remember before I finished this book, I was riding the train on the way to Chicago for a Model UN meeting and I told my friend that the book was making me so happy and I couldn’t wait to finish it. About 20 minutes later, I walked back to her seat sobbing because I had finished the book. Needless to say, this book was phenomenal. I loved it every minute I spent reading it.

Last year I read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda (review) and loved it. I was excited to read more by Albertalli, and I was definitely not disappointed. This is one of the books that, when I finished it, I instantly wanted to pick it back up and read it again. Is it possible that I can wipe my memory and reread it? Is that a thing? Better question, why isn’t it a thing yet? I bet you so many book lovers would love this. There is nothing better than reading a wonderful book for the first time.

But, I digress. Molly Peskin-Suso is so wonderful I wanted to hug her the entire book. I love the way her character develops throughout the story. She is absolutely hilarious – I found myself laughing out loud in public (no shame at all, the people staring at me were just jealous they weren’t reading what I was). She is a girl who struggles to find her voice and when she does it’s absolutely amazing.

The other characters are so wonderful too. I think I started eating more Cadbury Mini Eggs just because of Reid. Seriously guys, I’ve had more bags this year than usual and I’m totally tempted to buy more bags when they go on sale after Easter. Cassie is spunky and I love her spirit. Her character is a nice balance to Molly and it’s fun to see her interact with Molly. The entire Peskin-Suso family has to be one of my favorites, up there with the Weasleys. I love how mismatched they are and that even though they’re unconventional, it shows how much they are just like any other family out there.

I love the theme of sisterhood throughout the book. I have three sisters and a sister-in-law myself so I grew up with a lot of female bonds in my life. I love how Albertalli illuminates this special relationship and how it’s different for everyone. It’s sad to see Cassie and Molly grow up and apart but this is just a part of life that had to happen eventually. It’s one of the main struggles of the plot and I loved how it worked out in the end.

This is one you definitely need to get your hands on this year!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

 

One thought on “Book Review:The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

