Posted in Bloggers, Book Chat, Sophie

Book Chat: Reading Slumps

Hello! Hope you’re having a great week thus far. I’ve got a short week this week at school, so I have a lot of time to read! (Well, and do other things like see Beauty and the Beast with my friend and watch more Glee.)

Today I wanted to talk to you about reading slumps. We’ve all been there. You’ve just finished a phenomenal book and you’re still living in the wonderful world that just ended (or didn’t if it’s a series unless it was the last book in that one). Alas, all good things must come to an end at some point. Yet, you want to go back in time and start reading that book for the first time again. I have felt that way with many books (The Upside of Unrequited being the latest probably).

As a book blogger, being in a reading slump is the worst. I need to read so I can review and stay up to date with all of the buzz! So what do I do to fight this? Here are a few of my tried and true tricks.

1) Read a contemporary. I love contemporaries because they’re light and fluffy. Many of them have strong underlying messages in them too, and I love them even more for that. It’s nice to take a dip into the “real” world and see someone go through something that you have (or haven’t) and sympathize with their plight. Also, I love how fast they usually go. Some of my go-to contemporaries are To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny HanThe Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, anything by Sarah Dessen, and the latest contemporary that I bought.

2) Re-read my favorites. I don’t know how you people expect me to have just one favorite book. I have some all-time favorites (To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Shug by Jenny Han, You Were Here by Cori McCarthy to name a *few*). Re-reading a favorite book is an awesome solution because it’s revisiting a world that you’ve come to love. I always find that there are details that I missed the first time around and it’s fun to find all of the new things about the book that I love.

3) Start reading multiple different books. This one isn’t for everyone! I know it’s tough to read more than one book at a time for a lot of people, but if I’m feeling a slump come on I start a bunch of different books. Chances are one is going to grab me and suck me in. After I finish that one I have all of the other ones that I started that I can come back to. I slowly make my way through my books this way. (I have so much that I have to read vs. ones that I want to read in addition to this that it’s necessary to read more than one book at a time.) If the book that you picked up isn’t working for you then you can try one that you already started and come back to it later! This is how I finish so many books around the same time. It’s pretty effective when you have a huge tbr stack.

I hope my tips have helped! Are there any tried and true ways that you use to get out of a slump? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy reading,

Sophie

15 thoughts on “Book Chat: Reading Slumps

  1. I’ve tried the first two tips and have just started today doing the 3rd. I feel like I’ve been neglecting reading and I have so many books in my TBR. One distraction is that I’m equally enamored with Music, especially now that I have just recently discovered an artist who might be my most favorite of all time.

    Like

      1. I listen to Music when working at the office. It makes it more enjoyable. Listening also helps me unwind and de-stressed after work hours. It helps me sleep too. I love to sing too, especially in the shower lol. The artist is Paolo Nutini, a Scottish singer-songwriter musician. Can’t get enough of his music at the moment. There is so much passion and soul in his voice. And unlike most popular singers, his live performances are superb.

        Like

Leave a Reply

