Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Hi there! Can I tell you how excited I was to get this in the mail? I received an advanced copy from a publicist for review and I was so excited to read this. I saw it last fall and was immediately intrigued. I can’t wait for you guys to read it this May!

Synopsis:

A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about

28458598
Goodreads

two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Publisher: SimonPulse                                  Page #: 320

Expected Release: 30 May 2017                 Edition: ARC

My rating: 5/5 stars

*********************************************************

What a cute contemporary read! I couldn’t wait to see where these characters took me, and I loved how Menon characterized them! I am not entirely one for insta-love books, and it seemed like this one might be one, but I did appreciate all that happened within these pages.

I remember finishing it late the night before a scholarship competition and wanting to get up and dance around. Here are some of my initial thoughts (via Goodreads):

I love this book so much! Dimple and Rishi made me believe in so much.

I don’t think my sleep deprived brain had much more than this to type out. I enjoyed this book so much and have had some time to let my thoughts on it marinate.

One thing this book champions is the strength of Dimple as a female. I love it when female characters are hard on asserting themselves and there are always many obstacles that they face when this happens. I appreciated Dimple’s initial prickliness toward Rishi! Their first meeting is probably one of my favorite scenes in the book, especially seeing it from both sides of the story.

Rishi reminded me a bit of myself. I am a romantic (though not a hopeless one, and certainly not as much as Rishi), and I loved seeing him persist throughout this book. It was interesting to watch him develop as a character and more than just a boy in love. He’s sweet and kind, and I like that he doesn’t become overbearing and demanding of Dimple. He gives her room to be herself and appreciates her even more for her genuineness.

I cannot speak to how accurate this story was to Indian culture. I imagine, however, that with the author’s background that it was, at least to some extent, accurate. I like that it took the taboo idea of arranged marriages and made it something that the reader could understand in modern context. I think that people are really quick to judge arranged marriages, especially in the United States because we don’t understand it and what it means to people today. I think Menon did very well demystifying this for us, and I really loved the way she did it.

This is definitely one I’ll be rereading! I can’t wait to read it this summer again.

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

6 thoughts on “Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Leave a Reply

