Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Teach Me to Forget by Erica M. Chapman

GUYS! I’M GETTING THERE, I’M GETTING THERE! And by “getting there” I mean I’ve written 3 reviews by now and still have a considerable amount of work to still get done (only 25 more to go, as of now) 🙂 NO WORRIES THOUGH, I BELIEVE IN MYSELF! And that’s what counts, right?

Title: Teach Me to Forget

Author: Erica Chapman

Publisher: SimonPulse

Release Date: December 2, 2016

This is the story of Ellery, a girl who learns how to live while waiting for the date she chose to die.

Ellery’s bought the gun, made arrangements for her funeral, and even picked the day. A Wednesday. Everything

29526341
Goodreads

has fallen into place.

Now all she has to do is die.

When her plans go awry and the gun she was going to kill herself with breaks, she does the one thing she has control over–return it and get a new one. After tormenting the crusty customer service associate by trying to return the gun with the wrong receipt, Ellery gets caught by the security guard who also happens to be someone she knows–the annoyingly perfect Colter Sawyer from her English class.

Colter quickly uncovers what she’s hiding and is determined to change her mind. After confessing a closely held secret of his own, he promises not to tell hers. Ellery tries to fight her attraction to him as the shadows of her past cling tight around her, but when she’s faced with another tragedy, she must decide whether she can learn to live with what she’s done or follow through with her plan to die.

*************************************************

I think what I liked best about this book was Ellery’s voice. Throughout the entire book, I felt like I could truly relate to what Ellery was saying and feeling. One of the hard things, I have come to find out, is trying to understand a person going through this kind of situation. Reading this book really helped expand my knowledge about this subject and what kind of things people are feeling when they are experiencing this.

One thing I didn’t like a lot about this was a specific scene between Ellery and Colter and then the sudden turn around of the situation. I’m not going to talk about it specifically because it would give away some major plot points, but that’s one thing that irked me. I felt like it was a bit rushed and confusing how the whole thing happened. However, this didn’t put a hamper on my enjoyment of the novel as a whole.

There’s a twist ending that I actually enjoyed and wasn’t expecting (well, duh). It was a refreshing take on the whole situation and I’m glad it left things like that. I wish I would be able to get to know Ellery more after the story ends, but I guess I’ll have to sit here waiting forever 😛

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

