Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Sneak Peek Sunday: The Summer of Us by Cecilia Vinesse

Hi guys! I’m so glad to be here with you again this weekend to bring another great book. First and foremost, thank you The Novl for sending me an advance copy of this book for review. This has no inherent influence on how I read and review the novel.

Today I’m talking about the wonderful Cecilia Vinesse, author of Seven Days of Youwhich debuted last year. I even had the chance to interview Cecilia for Justine at her event in Naperville when she toured with her book in the U.S. This June, Cecilia is releasing her second book, The Summer of Us. 

Title: The Summer of Us

The Summer of Us
Goodreads | Amazon

Author: Cecilia Vinesse

Publisher: Poppy

Expected release: June 5, 2018

A swoon-worthy story about five best friends on a whirlwind trip through Europe, perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

American expat Aubrey has only two weeks left in Europe before she leaves for college, and she’s nowhere near ready. Good thing she and her best friend, Rae, have planned one last group trip across the continent. From Paris to Prague, they’re going to explore famous museums, sip champagne in fancy restaurants, and eat as many croissants as possible with their friends Clara, Jonah, and Gabe.

But when old secrets come to light, Aubrey and Rae’s trip goes from a carefree adventure to a complete disaster. For starters, there’s Aubrey and Gabe’s unresolved history, complicated by the fact that Aubrey is dating Jonah, Gabe’s best friend. And then there’s Rae’s hopeless crush on the effortlessly cool Clara. How is Rae supposed to admit her feelings to someone so perfect when they’re moving to different sides of the world in just a few weeks?

Author Cecilia Vinesse delivers a romantic European adventure that embraces the magic of warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses, and the bittersweet ache of learning to say goodbye to the past while embracing the future.

************

I picked this book up a few days ago and finished it in two days. I was in love. It was the perfect book to read after finishing Puddin’. (Review of that to come soon!) I remember how fast I finished Vinesse’s first book, and I couldn’t wait for a second book. Here are some initial thoughts from Goodreads:

I love Vinesse’s writing. I will always love it I think. I can’t wait for you all to read it this summer!! This is a perfect beach read or road trip read. It’s about beginnings and endings and the weird in between feeling. I found it extremely relatable and poignant

This book made me want to travel so bad! I haven’t been outside of the U.S. before and I’m dying to see what’s out there. It made me think of road trips across the U.S., and made me wonder what it would be like to do with my friends. I’m really looking forward to it, but I can see where things could go awry quickly.

It’s written in dual points of view in the third person, and I like that it was limited to only Aubrey and Rae. I feel that it was their story to tell, and while it would have been nice to hear from Clara or Jonah at some parts, I think it would have gotten too messy and lacking in cohesiveness. I love stories about best friends. I’ve had many best friends over my life time, and I think this is something that everyone can relate to. Growing up and growing apart from people is really hard, especially when the person is someone you hold in such high regard. Vinesse writes the dynamic between Aubrey and Rae and their friends so well, and I love the different ways they interact with each other.

Something else that I liked was that it deals a lot with the change after high school. After just going through it, I can attest how weird that period of time is. Everyone is hopeful for the future, but worried about what will come. I wasn’t scared to come to college per se, but I was nervous about making friends. It feels like a huge step in life to just up and move away from everything you’ve known, and I think this is captured perfectly in the book.

Overall, I loved the novel and the story itself. This is a perfect book to read this summer, and I really hope you check it out!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.