Posted in Blog Tours, Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Blog Tour: Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack Review + Giveaway

Hi there! Let’s start off the day by welcoming this awesome new book into this world!

Your Own Worst Enemy

by Gordon Jack
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: November 13, 2018

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Synopsis:
Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman.

They say that with great power comes great responsibility. Unless you’re student body president at Lincoln High School. Then you get all the responsibility but none of the power. And the three candidates running for president know all about that.

Stacey Wynn is the front-runner, but she didn’t count on Julia Romero entering this race. Julia is challenging Stacey for the title while also putting the moves on Stacey’s campaign adviser and only friend, Brian. And then there is Tony Guo, the way outsider. Tony is usually oblivious to the school’s political campaigning, as he’s oblivious to anything that isn’t about getting high and drinking all the Space Cow chocolate milk he can stomach. But when his favorite beverage is banned at school, a freshman political “mastermind” convinces Tony to become the voice of the little guy. But what kind of voice is that, really?

If this were an ordinary high school election, the winner would be whichever candidate was the most popular. But this year, each candidate may have to sink to a new low to win an election that could change the course of…very little.


About the Author

Gordon Jack always wanted to be a writer. In third grade, he put that on his “What I want to be when I grow up” list, just behind astronaut and professional dog walker. While working towards this goal, he had jobs as an advertising copywriter, English teacher, librarian, and semi-professional dog walker.The Boomerang Effect was his first novel. He lives in San Francisco with his family.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

 


Review

I really enjoyed this book, and I really enjoyed all the different voices represented in this novel. The cast of characters were engaging and dynamic, and they had their own motives for acting the way they did in the novel.

The very beginning was really good, and it hooked me until the end. The more I read, the more I wanted to know more about them. I didn’t really like Stacey and Tony, but I think they were still dynamic characters. They had a lot to grow from. I didn’t really connect to them on a personal level.

I think Julia was one of the most relatable characters. Her feelings of not fitting in because of her culture and the way she looks was something I feel many people can understand. I think it’s important to note that she resisted a lot of the racialization that people did of her.

The premise of the student government was really well done. I really enjoyed reading about the different strategies used by each candidate. I think they really represented different approaches used by politicians today.

Overall, this was a fun read. I wish I had had more time to read it at a time!


Tour Schedule

November 5th

Pink Polka Dot Books– Welcome Post

November 6th

November 7th

November 8th

The Reading Corner for All– Review & Favorite Quotes
BookCrushin– Guest Post

November 9th

November 12th

November 13th

Clairefy– Review

November 14th

November 15th

November 16th

Vicky Who Reads– Review & Guest Post

Giveaway

  • 2 signed copies of YOUR OWN WORST ENEMY by Gordon Jack w/ book swag
  • US Only
  • Please read the rules in the Rafflecopter before entering
  • Visit any of the tour stops to enter

Here’s the link! https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86329/


Please check out the rest of this awesome tour!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Advertisements