*****EDIT*****

This tour was conducted with FFBC. Due to the doxxing and threatening/toxic behavior displayed by the tour company toward Black bloggers, I am removing any and all affiliation with them on my platforms. This is unacceptable. However, I am leaving my reviews/posts up for the benefit of the authors I supported. Thanks in advance for your understanding!

Hi all!! I’m so so excited to bring you this amazing book that will be released TOMORROW! Without further ado, let’s jump right into my review!

About the Book

Loveboat, Taipei(Loveboat, Taipei #1)

Author: Abigail Hing Wen

Publisher: HarperCollinsRelease

Date: January 7th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Travel, Asian Literature

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hintof La La LandWhen eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to studyMandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achievingkids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-boundprodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they werenine—and her parents’yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teenmeet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing thancalligraphy and drinking snake-bloodsake than touring sacred shrines.Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—buthow far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple Books | Google Play

About the Author

Abigail was born in West Virginiato a family of immigrants: Her mother is from thePhilippines and her father from Indonesia, and her grandparents emigrated to those countriesfrom Fujian and Shandong provinces in China.Abigail grew up in Ohio and graduated from Harvard University andColumbia Law School.She worked in Washington DC for the Senate, as a law clerk for a federal judge. and now inSilicon Valley in venture capital and artificial intelligence. She also earned her Master of FineArts in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts.In her spare time, she enjoys long walks with her husband and two boys, and hanging out withfriends and over 100 family members in the Bay Area. She loves music and dances to it whenno one is watching.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter | Instagram

Review

This book was an absolute HOOT. I loved Ever from the get go, and she gets into such shenanigans. I loved getting to know Ever and her gang so much.

Sophie was definitely one of my favorites — is it because she and I share a name? Possibly. But it’s more than just that. She seems like an easy read from the surface, but there’s a depth once you get to know her more.

I love how the characters are written and the setting of the whole novel. I think Wen really captured the experience well.

Playlist

Tour Schedule

January 1st

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

January 2nd

We Live and Breathe Books – Review

Read.Sleep.Repeat. – Review + Favourite Quotes

Kayla Reads and Reviews – Review

Young Adult Media Consumer – Review

Write, Read, Repeat – Promotional Post

January 3rd

Library of a Book Witch – Review

Bookishaestha – Review + Favourite Quotes

Jinxed Reviews – Review + Playlist

Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

Heart’s Content – Review + Favourite Quotes

January 4th

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes

The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes

Cluttered Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

Yna the Mood Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes

My Bookish Escapades – Promotional Post

January 5th

Novelishly – Review

String of Pages – Review + Favourite Quotes

Fanna Wants The World To Read – Review

Playita reads – Review

Kait Plus Books – Promotional Post

January 6th

The Mind of a Book Dragon – Review + Playlist

Books and Blends – Review

The Baroness of Books – Review

Words of Hannah Kay – Review

Utopia State of Mind – Promotional Post

January 7th

Magical Reads – Playlist

Confessions of a YA Reader – Review

Reads and Thoughts – Review + Favourite Quotes

biblioxytocin – Review + Playlist

To All The Books I’ve Read Before – Promotional Post

Giveaway

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI by Abigail Hing Wen (USOnly)

Starts: 1stJanuary 2020

Ends: 15thJanuary 2020

Link to giveaway: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86439/

Blog Tour: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen

Hi everyone, and hello 2020! It has been a whirlwind of a holiday season for me, and I was able to finish a couple books! One of the books I finished was Throw Like a Girl by Sarah Henning, which is out this Tuesday from Little, Brown. Thank you so much to The Novl for sending me an early copy for review!

Title: Throw Like a Girl

Author: Sarah Henning

Publisher: Little, Brown BFYR

Expected release: January 7, 2020

My rating: 3/5 Goodreads stars

Friday Night Lights meets Morgan Matson’s The Unexpected Everything in this contemporary debut where swoonworthy romance meets underdog sports story.

When softball star Liv Rodinsky throws one ill-advised punch during the most important game of the year, she loses her scholarship to her fancy private school, her boyfriend, and her teammates all in one fell swoop. With no other options, Liv is forced to transfer to the nearest public school, Northland, where she’ll have to convince their coach she deserves a spot on the softball team, all while facing both her ex and the teammates of the girl she punched… Every. Single. Day.

Enter Grey, the injured star quarterback with amazing hair and a foolproof plan: if Liv joins the football team as his temporary replacement, he’ll make sure she gets a spot on the softball team in the Spring. But it will take more than the perfect spiral for Liv to find acceptance in Northland’s halls, and behind that charming smile, Grey may not be so perfect after all.

With well-drawn characters and a charming quarterback love interest who’s got brains as well as brawn, Throw Like a Girl will have readers swooning from the very first page.

I’m glad to start off my new year with a review of a book! I’ll start this by saying that I really did enjoy this book, but it took me a bit to get into it.

The first chapters detail what happened to Liv and how she got herself kicked out of her prep school. It provided a nice backstory while still getting right into the action. I like how the novel began and ended in the same spot — on the softball field. It brought things full-circle.

I loved the relationship between Liv and her best friend. They were always supportive of each other and did their best to see each other’s respective games. It could have been really easy to set them as enemies in this novel, but it was refreshing to see their relationship grow and change in a positive way throughout all the conflict in the novel.

I think a big challenge with sport romances is that they can sometimes get old, but this one does not disappoint. I was excited to see a woman playing a male-dominated sport and owning it. Liv’s confidence and abilities really shined even though she sometimes couldn’t see it.

The relationship between Liv and Grey was okay. It wasn’t my favorite part of the book, honestly. I think it was a good part of the plot, however I liked the parts that focused more on Liv over the scenes between the two of them.

All in all, this is a great book to start your new year off with! Be sure to get it from shelves on January 7, this Tuesday!

Happy reading,

Sophie 🙂

Sneak Peak Sunday: Throw Like a Girl by Sarah Henning