Posted in Bloggers, Reviews, Sophie

Book Review: Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kim Karalius

Hey, there! Today is my tour stop 🙂 For this I will be reviewing the book. It was a lovely read. If you’re looking for the other tour stops click here to find my post about it. Without further ado, here’s my review!

If you’re wondering what the book is about:

25819497Aspiring love charm maker Hijiri Kitamura was excited to come back to Grimbaud for her sophomore year-until she learns about the upcoming charm making competition. Grimbaud has just started to recover from the tyranny of Zita’s love fortunes and it would be too easy for the winning charm maker to take Zita’s place. The only solution is for Hijiri, with the support of her friends and fellow rebels, to win the contest herself.

Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done, especially when Love itself has decided to meddle in Hijiri’s life. Concerned that it’s favorite charm maker has given up on finding a boyfriend of her own, Love takes matters into its own hands and delivers the perfect boyfriend to her in a giftwrapped box…literally.

Get ready to be charmed by this magical, quirky sequel to Love Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius.

**********************

I couldn’t stop reading this book! I have read Love Fortunes and Other Disasters (review here), and I wasn’t as in love with it as I was with this one. It was cute, and I really liked getting back to Grimbaud and the gang.

Hijiri is a sweet character, and I enjoyed seeing her character evolve. Her determination and sweetness is something she doesn’t see enough in herself. I wish she had believed more in herself than she did. I like how her love charms were both simple and creative, and when they worked she believed in herself more.

Oh my gosh, Ken was awesome. I love, love, love his backstory!! It’s so fitting that it all comes full-circle in the end. They’re one of my OTPs for sure, up there with Percabeth 😉 His character was a unique one. I like the concept that he was specially made for her, and the book dealt a lot with him and who he was as a person.

The different perspective and focus on character was refreshing. I liked focusing on Hijiri. I didn’t like Fallon as much as I like Hijiri. Grimbaud rebuilds during the book, and the whole vibe is so hopeful.

So that’s all I have for you folks today. Thanks for making the stop!

********

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a finished copy! Here is the link.

Happy reading 🙂

Sophie

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kim Karalius

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.